Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Tinkyada Brown Rice Penne Pasta- gluten free/ wheat free

Posted on | July 21, 2008 | 8 Comments

I am actually embarrassed to write this review.

This gluten free pasta has been a staple at my house for over a year now. My husband and picky children really love it in a variety of recipes. However, imagine to my surprise when I was cleaning up my sidebar categories and realized I hadn’t reviewed this brand of Tinkyada gluten free pasta. You would think this would be one of the first! I can’t believe I overlooked this. Yikes.

In fact, the above photo is my favorite pasta dish Creamy Chicken and Pasta. My family slurps up and asks for seconds ( trust me, this rarely happens at my house. Too many picky eaters!). To try the recipe, stop over and check out my Dish of The Week feature on my family blog.

I usually purchase the 16 ounce bag of this gluten free penne pasta for $3.69 and it easily feeds my family of four two hearty meals.

This Tinkyada pasta is easy to prepare- simply boil the noodles for 15 minutes, and after a cold water rinse you are ready for your favorite sauce. I found these noodles be slightly larger than a traditional wheat penne noodles. These gluten free noodles also cook up soft and slightly chewy; it really doesn’t result in a firm al dente, though. The flavor is light and mild, and pairs well with any sauce. I did not experience any aftertaste or strange texture. These noodles also hold their shape well with no splitting or cracking. It’s all good!

Seriously, with these noodles, you really can’t go wrong. Tinkyada has a great reputation, and these noodles are no exception.

Pros: pleasant, mild flavor; holds shape, simple ingredients,

Cons: doesn’t cook al dente; softer density and texture

Rating: 5 stars

Want to try it for yourself? Click the link below:

Ingredients: stone ground brown rice, rice bran, water

Click HERE for my other Tinkyada reviews and HERE for my other gluten free pasta reviews!

Have you tried this pasta? What did you think?

Comments

8 Responses to “Tinkyada Brown Rice Penne Pasta- gluten free/ wheat free”

  1. Eileen Fuller
    July 21st, 2008 @ 2:29 pm

    I – we all love it- it is the only brand that we buy or will eat. It’s the best!

  2. bbg
    July 23rd, 2008 @ 3:33 pm

    i also only eat tinkyada’s brown rice penne– the organic and non. i have actually been successful in making a more al dente feel by not cooking it the full 15 minutes. i usually find that it’s done much sooner than that (around 10 minutes) and even my gluten-eating al dente pasta loving husband approves! :) ) it really has a great flavor, i just find that i have to make sure to add a lot of salt and some olive oil in the water while it’s boiling to give it some more and to prevent sticking together.

  3. Betty
    August 7th, 2008 @ 2:45 pm

    Hi, Everytime I read that someone likes this pasta I’m shocked…I gave it a really good try, just couldn’t convince myself that it was good, to me its nothing like “real” pasta, maybe because I’m Italian and always ate Imported pastas. After 3 years of searching I finally found one that is very close to the real thing, even my hubby and son who are not GF love it, I hope you’ll give it a try, its made by Schar.

  4. Karen
    August 7th, 2008 @ 3:12 pm

    Welcome Betty! Schar products are just wonderful, aren’t they? I am still trying to find them locally in my new area. I think their crackers are the best! I have never seen their pasta though. Do you have a link online I could check out?

    You are right, these noodles do not taste the same as a wheat based pasta. Bur I think one reason they appeal to so many is that the mild flavor and ability to retain its shape are huge bonuses in the gluten free world of noodles. And unfortunately, too many GF noodles either taste horrible or they shred and clump.

    Thanks for sharing your opinion- pasta advice from an real Italian is ALWAYS welcome! :)

  5. Meryle
    September 17th, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

    I’m a very picky eater and I was very impressed with tinkyada’s brown rice penne. My boyfriend was just told by his doctor to go GF and though this is the first pasta we tried, we were both very happy with it.

  6. Linda P.
    October 12th, 2008 @ 6:37 pm

    This is the only GF pasta that I have found that even comes close to wheat pasta. I have converted almost all of the Italian dishes that I make and it is very good.

  7. Barbara M
    October 16th, 2008 @ 8:55 pm

    First, thanks for this site. Im new to the who GF living (along with no dairy,corn, soy) I have heard nothing but great reviews on this pasta, so I bought some today and will try. Trader Joes has a good brown rice pasta too that is cheaper, but with restrictions I think I need to splurge.

  8. Sara
    April 5th, 2012 @ 9:16 am

    Your site is great! I’m new to gluten-free eating and cooking, and finding reviews of products was hard…until I found your site! :)

    The first g-f pasta I bought was Tinkyada rotini and it was great! I added them cold to a salad, yum! I often undercook pasta to get al dente, but I thought these had a nice chewy bite regardless. Looking forward to trying other shapes. :)

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta