Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Sorella Bakery Gluten Free Biscottines- chocolate chip flavor

Posted on | July 3, 2007 | 13 Comments

Sorella Bakery Chocolate Chip Vanilla biscottines biscotti

Oh, boy, are you in for a treat. These mini biscotti, or biscottines, are hand made perfection. These high quality cookies do not taste gluten free in the least. I think I have found my new favorite cookie!

When eating them, I was taken back to my trip to Italy two years ago- they taste like real Italian biscotti! They provide a nice crunch, and then melt in your mouth. The texture is smooth and uncomplicated without the grittiness or graininess that often accompanies GF cookies and biscotti. Unlike their traditional American counterpart, these biscottines do not require dunking in a hot beverage to make them palatable, or even bitable. This product is great alone or with a drink. However, only a one to two second dunk is sufficient, otherwise it will melt and disappear in your cup.

Sorella Bakery Chocolate Chip biscotti biscottines

The flavor is light and delicate, not too sweet or overpowering. This biscottine flavor is vanilla with mini chocolate chips evenly scattered throughout the product- just enough chocolate to satisfy a sweet tooth, but not so much that it covers up the vanilla flavor. I would suggest eating these within three days of opening the bag, but trust me, that won’t be a problem.

I spoke with Phyllis, the owner and creator of these amazing gluten free cookies. She was very friendly and excited about sharing her product. I found out that, in fact, her family is Italian and that the “biscottines” name comes from her mother’s name for these cookies, so the name of the product is a tribute to her, and the time Phyllis spent baking with her mother growing up. She bakes all their products by hand, and packages them herself for shipping with the utmost care. You can count on amazingly fast shipping- I had my box of biscottines within two days! They arrived perfect and intact.

This fall I will start featuring small start up and local bakeries, so be on the lookout for more information on this up and coming business. Thank you Phyllis, for allowing me to review your biscottines!

Pros: Amazing flavor and texture- I can’t believe they are gluten free!

Cons: None that I can find!

Rating: 5 stars

Wanna try these for yourself! Click below to purchase:


Sorella – Biscottines – Chocolate Chip

From: glutenfree.com

Ingredients:Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Tapioca Flour, Eggs, Canola Oil, Vanilla Extract, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips, Sugar,Aluminum-Free Baking Powder, Xanthan Gum, Salt.

Comments

13 Responses to “Sorella Bakery Gluten Free Biscottines- chocolate chip flavor”

  1. Amanda
    July 28th, 2008 @ 9:02 pm

    I am currently eating the Cinnamon Swirl Biscottines. They are unbelievable! They are light and crispy, and very flavorful. What a treat! I even shared them with people who can eat gluten and they loved the taste of them. Thank you for making these!

  2. Walter Gizze
    December 29th, 2008 @ 12:36 am

    I loved the biscotties but do you have sugar free ones as of yet. I read the ingredients and there is 16g of sugar in them. Please let me know thanks

  3. Kim Wahl
    February 4th, 2009 @ 9:28 pm

    I just tried the cinnamon flavor up in NY and WOW!! I went gluten free about a month ago and feel soooo much better. These cookies take care of the afternoon ” coffee and______” moments. Thank-you-Thank-you!

  4. Gluten Free Biscotti- Review | Best Gluten Free Biscotti - Sorella Bakery
    June 26th, 2009 @ 1:20 am

    [...] Sorella Bakery Gluten Free Biscotti – Review [...]

  5. Gluten Free Cookie Review « Gluten Free Cookie – Sorella Bakery
    June 29th, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

    [...] Gluten Free Cookie Review By reehaan77 Sorella Bakery Gluten Free Biscotti – Review Click here [...]

  6. Brayden Sanchez
    May 25th, 2010 @ 11:40 am

    Dark chocolate is my favorite kind of chocolate. Chocolates have some natural antioxidants too.’”"

  7. Kate
    August 15th, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

    What delicious biscottines! New to GF baked goods, I wasn’t hopeful that these would be as good as my mom’s….but
    they were!!!! Don’t know if I will even make my own now….my favorite is the hazelnut anise!

  8. Chocolate Stock Blog
    October 9th, 2010 @ 11:38 pm

    Sorella Biscottines Cinnamon Swirl…

    [...] ottines do not require dunking in a hot beverage to make them palatable, or even [...]…

  9. Biscottines Hazelnut Anise
    October 12th, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

    [...] Sorella Bakery Gluten Free Biscottines- chocolate chip flavor … What delicious biscottines New to GF baked goods, I wasn't hopeful that these would be as good as my mom's… but they were! Don't know if I will even make my own now… my favorite is the hazelnut anise Leave a Reply. Name (required) . [...]

  10. Rickles
    November 6th, 2010 @ 7:33 am

    great article, i have add your site to my favs.
    thanks!

  11. Laura
    March 11th, 2011 @ 9:18 am

    Over the past 3 years of going “gluten free” I have tried many cookies, etc. By far, these are my favorite. I love the Chocolate Chip! I actually throw a few in the microwave for 15 seconds and eat with coffee. Absolutely delicious!! Thank you! Thank you!

  12. Eleanor Blazer
    May 18th, 2011 @ 9:44 am

    I just heard from Phyllis. She is too sick to continue baking. I don’t have any other details. I wish her the best and will keep her in my prayers.

  13. Bonnie Glasscock
    August 23rd, 2011 @ 1:09 am

    I love the Biscottine cookies and have carried them in my store for the past three years. I called Phyllis to re-order and could not reach the Sorella Bakery. If anyone knows how to contact them or any news of what happened I would appreciate knowing.
    Bonnie Glasscock

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta