Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage (gluten free, dairy free, soy free, vegan)

Posted on | March 10, 2009 | 43 Comments

When I tried this product, I instantly thought of my sister. She is currently nursing a little one and he is having serious food allergy issues. However since he is too young to test ( reliably), she has eliminated corn, soy and dairy from her diet.  If you can’t have these, what do you have over your cereal for breakfast, and you don’t like rice milk ? Or what do you dunk your cookies in? Ta-da! So Delicious to the rescue!
This So Delicious coconut milk beverage from Turtle Mountain is gluten free, dairy free and vegan. I sampled two flavors: vanilla and regular.  Both beverages had the same pourability and consistency- smooth and slightly thick; it was similar to 2% reduced fat milk and looked like it too. The color was a nice white that reminded me of dairy milk.  Each serving contains 5g. of fat, so it has a nice “body” to it and didn’t look or taste like watered down coconut milk. Much, much better than that!
But how did they taste? I tried the vanilla flavor first, and it was somewhat sweet with a great vanilla flavor and just a hint of  coconut. It even has a pleasant vanilla scent when you open the carton. I tried it as a beverage and over my cereal, both with success.
The regular flavor has a light coconut flavor and wasn’t very sweet to me.  I was surprised that it didn’t have much of a scent at all when I opened the carton. It tasted clean and refreshing with my Nature’s Path Koala Crisp cereal.
Another bonus: with both flavors there was no weird or odd aftertaste.
I was really impressed by these gluten free products. They are tasty and would probably substitute wonderfully in recipes, hot cocoa or coffee.
Pros: Smooth and light, no overpowering coconut flavor
Cons: If you don’t like coconut at all, you probably won’t like it
Rating: 4 1/2 stars
To purchase, check your local natural foods store!
***************
Ingredients: Coconut cream (water & guar gum), organic evaporated cane juice, calcium phosphate, magnesium phosphate, carageenan, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D-2, selenium, zinc oxide, folic acid, vitamin B-12. For additional nutritional information, please click HERE to visit their website.
*This product is also available in an unsweetened flavor

Comments

43 Responses to “Product Review: So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage (gluten free, dairy free, soy free, vegan)”

  1. Maggie
    March 10th, 2009 @ 11:57 pm

    Thank you so much for the review of this! I’ve seen it at my local health food store but didn’t realize that it came in flavors. Hmmm…I wonder how the vanilla flavor would work as a coffee creamer? :D

    Thanks again!

  2. Karen
    March 11th, 2009 @ 3:14 am

    I am sure it would be very tasty! It would be a nice way to add just a touch of flavor. If you try it please leave a comment and share if it was good or not. I don’t drink coffee, so I’m anxious to read any opinions my readers wish to share :) .

  3. Barbara
    March 12th, 2009 @ 11:22 pm

    I love this product! It’s dairy-free, gluten-free, soy-free, and delicious! And it works wonderfully in all of my baking. My dairy/gluten-intolerant kids are in heaven!

  4. Allison
    March 22nd, 2009 @ 10:34 pm

    Too bad it has carrageenan … an ingredient that disturbs a lot of stomachs!

  5. dave
    April 17th, 2009 @ 2:01 pm

    sounds like a good product but i wish it was organic like there ice cream

  6. Crystak
    May 23rd, 2009 @ 11:17 pm

    My son has a milk allergy and he has been drinking hemp milk for about 6 months until I saw this. We had to try it. I always try things before I even attempt to give it to him and to my surprise I LOVED IT! I am even drinking it now. I give this milk an A++ you must try it. It doesn’t have much of a coconut taste as well. We like the sweet vanilla!

  7. weapons of massdistraction › The Effort We Are Engaged In
    June 11th, 2009 @ 8:26 pm

    [...] between coconut juice and coconut milk. But I just picked up a very different kind of coconut milk at the co-op. I’m thinking it would be particularly good on granola, and should probably get [...]

  8. Patty
    July 20th, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

    I just started using the unsweetened variety. I have been transitioning to vegan for the past year, and milk (not other dairy products) was really the “final fronteir”. I just couldn’t handle soy or any of the other “milks”, but this is so much better. It’s not watery or after-tasty. This will definitely work for me.

  9. Dave2
    December 31st, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

    Of the three flavors, I found the vanilla best. The others had a more chemical taste — maybe the additives.

  10. Ert
    March 25th, 2010 @ 5:47 am

    Save your money….. I tried the unsweetened Coconut Beverage. I so much wanted to like this, but was so disappointed by the total and utter lack of flavor. The only taste I received to my palate was a rather faint bleach taste.

    Nice idea, poor execution. There’s no substitute for the real thing. Make your own or just eat more real coconut.

  11. Joy
    April 13th, 2010 @ 4:09 am

    I actually like the regular coconut milk. My friend tried the vanila one and found it too swwet. It doesn’t work well with coffee though. It turns into smaller chunks- some weird chemical reaction I suppose.

  12. Emily
    May 2nd, 2010 @ 11:09 pm

    I just bought this to add to my smoothies, it’s great! Looks like they redesigned the bottle too.

  13. diana
    May 5th, 2010 @ 1:00 pm

    I tried the So Delicious Low Fat Unsweetened Coconut Milk and all I can say is “it is really thick, flavorless, and has a bitter after-taste.” I like coconut milk from the coconut – how did this product taste like glue?

  14. James
    May 7th, 2010 @ 11:28 pm

    I just purchased Vanilla some this evening and I really like it! I tried silk almond mild and it had an Enfamil type aftertaste, plus it got chunky in warm beverages. In a cup plain it tasted really good. Tried this with my Tazo spiced chai latte concentrate and it was fantastic! Love it!!!! Kind of pricy here in Maui it was $7.19 a quart.

  15. Sarah Morrow
    May 30th, 2010 @ 10:43 pm

    I found your web page and the reviews of So Delicious Coconut Milk…. and tried it…. I have to say I agree with Ert and Diana. I love real coconut milk, but this stuff is really bad. What did they do to make a product that can be so good, taste so flat and bland? It has no flavor or aroma at all. I wouldn’t know it was coconut if the label didn’t say so. I bought the “plain unflavored” kind and had to mix in a lot of xylitol just to get it down. Even mixing in a nicely flavored protein powder didn’t help.

    In terms of redesigning the bottle, I think it has to do with the name change to “So Delicious” from “Soy Delicious,” as more and more people become aware that soy is not all that healthful.

  16. Shon
    June 16th, 2010 @ 1:07 pm

    @Dave, whole foods market carries the organic coconut milk by so delicious! My family does all organic too. The vanilla is delicious!! Kids an I love it: )

  17. David
    August 7th, 2010 @ 9:23 am

    Total disappointment, I picked up 2 cartons this morning, got home and tryed it with my lunch. Being coconut milk, i expected it to have a coconut flavor, no flavor at all, makes you wonder just how much coconut is in the milk. Very white like coconut, wonder what they put int here to make it so white. If blindfolded, i don’t think there would be one out of 100 people would know it was coconut milk, i am talking about the unsweetened milk. I am a vegertarian and eat a lot of things that don’t taste good just because they are healthy, but coconut milk i expected it to have a coconut flavor. The only reason i purchased it was because it was on special for 2.79, also a dollar coupon on each carton, ended up being 1.79 for a 64 oz carton. I would have been really disappointment if i had paid regular price of 4.79, i would imagine they are getting ready to discontinue it.

  18. jill
    August 12th, 2010 @ 8:55 am

    If your looking for coconut milk because you like the flavor of coconut, i guess you could be dissapointed as some have said. But if your looking for a subsitute for “milk” it’s increadable!!! I love that it doesnt overpower the flavor of what you add it too, but is just what it sais…. “soooo delicious” The first we tried is the vanella coffee creamer and it’s wonderfully smooth and great in iced coffies as well..YUM!)Im really really glad this is an available product.

  19. Spiral
    September 27th, 2010 @ 9:20 am

    Exactly, Jill. The people saying this product is no good are completely confused and don’t realize it is meant to be a milk substitute, not an actual coconut tasting coconut milk. So the point is to taste as closely to real milk as possible.

    I just bought this from Whole Foods yesterday and I’m super happy that I have finally found something that is so close to actual milk that I couldn’t tell the difference while eating my cereal this morning. WAYYY better than soy milk.

  20. MasterG
    October 6th, 2010 @ 11:24 pm

    It’s a great milk substitute. I use the unsweetened coconut milk with organic granola and fruit. I have also used it in a rice and beans dish.

  21. Americansheeple
    November 2nd, 2010 @ 3:51 pm

    Tried it, and hated it. No coconut flavor at all, so white it glows in the dark, and the fake thickness completely through me off.

    BTW that fake thickness is from carrageenan which is not healthy to ingest.

  22. barbara
    January 17th, 2011 @ 9:22 am

    where i can i get this product our heath food store donest carry it either does our grocery store i tried to get the yagart but they didnt carry it either??????

  23. J.J.
    January 26th, 2011 @ 9:08 am

    I like the neutral taste of the unsweetened version. I found other non dairy milks were too sweet and didn’t go well with cereal.

    My question is: the So Delicious coconut milk doesn’t appear to be organic. I’ve read that coconuts can contain a lot of pesticides. Does anyone know about this?

  24. Joan Salvanelli
    March 5th, 2011 @ 5:25 pm

    I tried the unsweetened coconut milk and it was good. I am on the Weight Watchers Diet and one cup is only 1 point. It was good on cereal with fruit and the Weight Watchers Smoothie Mix. I don’t think I would like it by it self.

  25. Bobbi
    March 6th, 2011 @ 8:23 am

    I can’t stand the taste of milk. It’s foul. Ice cream is the only form of milk I like. So, I’ve been using “non-dairy” powdered creamer to take the edge off of coffee. But those creamers are chock full of unhealthy ingredients, especially the partially hydrogenated oils.

    To wean myself off of those non-dairy creamers, I’ve been in search of a palatable (or at leas inoffensive) substitute. I’ve tried Silk vanilla almond milk, which the texture was fine and there was none of the off-putting grainy taste of soy milk. But I didn’t like the vanilla flavor (who knew vanilla would be distasteful to my palate?). It’s the same flavor I don’t like in the International Delight non-dairy creamers in the French vanilla and caramel varieties (ID was a bust).

    And I could never get past the odd taste of soy milk (though I love tofu and soybean thread). From all the recommendations I’ve read about So Delicious coconut milk as a coffee creamer, I took a chance (just a 32-ounce carton) with the unsweetened version to minimize any overpowering taste.

    Yes, indeed, the unsweetened coconut milk had no discernible taste. No coconut. It was like drinking water, which for me, was a good finding. Heck, it had no aftertaste or odd lingering flavor (as artificial sugars, including sucralose, have).

    Next, I tried it as a coffee creamer. Immediately, I was surprised at how potent it was in lightening the coffee (where with other substitutes, I’d need nearly half of the coffee amount). In the most key criterion, the coconut milk did mellow out the coffee satisfactorily.

    Now, because of its neutral taste, I’ll also have a good substitute for milk in cooking and baking applications. One problem solved. As for the others….

  26. Bobbi
    March 6th, 2011 @ 8:24 am

    (Sorry if this is a duplicate but I don’t see my comment posted.)

    I can’t stand the taste of milk. It’s foul. Ice cream is the only form of milk I like. So, I’ve been using “non-dairy” powdered creamer to take the edge off of coffee. But those creamers are chock full of unhealthy ingredients, especially the partially hydrogenated oils.

    To wean myself off of those non-dairy creamers, I’ve been in search of a palatable (or at leas inoffensive) substitute. I’ve tried Silk vanilla almond milk, which the texture was fine and there was none of the off-putting grainy taste of soy milk. But I didn’t like the vanilla flavor (who knew vanilla would be distasteful to my palate?). It’s the same flavor I don’t like in the International Delight non-dairy creamers in the French vanilla and caramel varieties (ID was a bust).

    And I could never get past the odd taste of soy milk (though I love tofu and soybean thread). From all the recommendations I’ve read about So Delicious coconut milk as a coffee creamer, I took a chance (just a 32-ounce carton) with the unsweetened version to minimize any overpowering taste.

    Yes, indeed, the unsweetened coconut milk had no discernible taste. No coconut. It was like drinking water, which for me, was a good finding. Heck, it had no aftertaste or odd lingering flavor (as artificial sugars, including sucralose, have).

    Next, I tried it as a coffee creamer. Immediately, I was surprised at how potent it was in lightening the coffee (where with other substitutes, I’d need nearly half of the coffee amount). In the most key criterion, the coconut milk did mellow out the coffee satisfactorily.

    Now, because of its neutral taste, I’ll also have a good substitute for milk in cooking and baking applications. One problem solved. As for the others….

  27. jason Alan Griffin
    March 8th, 2011 @ 2:48 pm

    I had never heard of this product until I was looking over one of my client’s food journal and I noticed that he uses it in his coffee and sometimes has a glass of it with dinner.
    As soon as I saw it in his journal, I went to look it up, expecting to find something horrible like Coffee-Mate.
    But I was delighted to read about what this stuff really is.
    I’m going to start recommending it to all of my clients as an alternative to dairy products.
    Coconuts are so much better than soybeans.

  28. Hilary
    March 19th, 2011 @ 9:25 pm

    I bought a carton last week in a supermarket, and now can’t find it anywhere. (I live in Edmonton, Canada), but I really want to keep buying it. But where??
    My carton does say the product is organic, so I’m not sure what Dave was talking about.
    Anyway, I am quite discriminating about “milk” substitutes, and this is definitely the best. I have only tried the Vanilla, but hope to try the others – if I can find them.

  29. randy
    March 20th, 2011 @ 2:18 pm

    I purchased “So Delicious” Regular Coconut Milk as an alternative to milk. I liked the science behind MCFA’s, and agree with the comments that it has virtually no flavor, disappointing if you want full flavor coconut milk, good if you can’t tolerate the flavor of Soymilk. Also, agree that this is designed to substitute for milk, not designed to deliver TRUE coconut milk.

    I looked on the soydelicious website and was quite surprised to see that in the “allergens” link, this product contains “CORN”. How can a company get away with not provding this in their ingredients on the box?

    My conclusion, while this is a good alternative to milk and soymilk products……..I doubt very much this product has a very large percentage of REAL coconut.

  30. JD
    March 21st, 2011 @ 1:56 pm

    I don’t like drinking anything that seems “thick” and this goes for regular milk, soy milk, etc. That being said, I use So Delicious coconut milk all the time in baking, coffee, and in cereal. They also have a creamer version in plain, vanilla, and (I believe) hazelnut and I use them in my coffee nearly everyday. I also use this for cream based soups and use a combination of the plain creamer and regular milk. I love how I can use it for savory and sweet foods and because it doesn’t have a strong flavor like soy very few people can tell the difference. Like I said, I don’t drink it straight up but it has many other great uses.

  31. Claire
    March 26th, 2011 @ 4:48 pm

    I hate coconut but I loved this product. I live in Canada though and they don’t sell it here!!!

  32. Donna Chi
    March 30th, 2011 @ 7:55 am

    It works great in coffee, but like Half & Half, it will appear to “curdle” when poured into hot coffee. This is because of its high fat content. There’s nothing wrong with it; you just need to stir it. Again, it has the same reaction in hot coffee that you’d have with Half & Half.

  33. TA
    May 4th, 2011 @ 7:01 am

    My baby loves So Delicious Coconut Milk. Anyone knows where I can get the So Delicious Coconut Milk powder for traveling? If not make by So Delicious are there any other types of powder has nutritrion I can use for subtitution. My baby is allergic to Cow Milk and she doesn’t like Soy Milk. Thanks.

  34. bluuuurg » Snacky McSnackerson
    May 8th, 2011 @ 9:57 pm

    [...] Felt munchy and had some chocolate. It was 90% cocoa so I was dying for milk, so cracked open my coconut milk and had a few swigs of that. I still have the taste of the Pop Chips in my mouth so I want to eat [...]

  35. Jake Herbert
    May 27th, 2011 @ 10:06 pm

    As a coconut lover, I was very excited to see this product at the grocery store. I must say that I was quite disappointed. There is almost no discernible coconut flavor. I tried the vanilla flavored milk and the best description I can come up with for its flavor would be that it tastes like a glass of water with a drop of vanilla extract mixed in.

  36. Serah
    June 7th, 2011 @ 10:44 am

    I’m a hardcore cow’s milk fan, but was looking for something with fewer calories to help me get fit for a 5k. I tried almond milk, but even the unsweetened was just too sweet/odd tasting. Saw the coconut milk next time I went to the store and decided, what the heck. I immediately liked it. Good color, nice texture, no aftertaste, and even just a slight hint of coconut in the unsweetened version. A fair alternative to real milk. Makes good hot chocolate, too!

  37. James
    August 25th, 2011 @ 6:09 pm

    It taste just find however real milk comes from an animal not a plant. For the people that are lactose intolerant and can not drink processed milk (IE) homogenization, pasteurization,food colored,vaccination bovine cows milk,I understand why. If you are able to get real raw milk that is organic or not organic in your state
    your milk problems would go away.. But if your child got the 35 vaccination that are being pushed today my your doctor before they are 5 years old,his immune system could be so screwed up that he could be allergic to it. Its worth trying to fix the allergy.

  38. Sue
    November 5th, 2011 @ 9:24 am

    Nice flavor but definitely does NOT stand up to coffee. In coffee, it’s like skim milk—no matter how much you pour in, your coffee is dark brown and watery with no body or ‘fullness’. Nothing beats regular milk or half/half for coffee. Good on cereal though!

  39. Natasha
    December 28th, 2011 @ 3:35 pm

    I am from an island, i know what coconut milk is . I bought one of this today at a very prestigious store, so i was soooo surprised to realized how bad this is. There is nothing close to coconut milk there, it actually taste like an stomach medicine. I bought the original plain flavor to try. NOT recommended. I will keep looking , probably in a latin store i can get better quality.

  40. Rokzane
    January 3rd, 2012 @ 4:34 pm

    I am loving this stuff. This isn’t intended to taste anything like coconut folks, so if you want real coconut tasting coconut milk, open up a can of it. This is for people looking for a dairy substitute that can’t/won’t drink soy, almond, or rice milk. What does this mean? It means the dairy substitute must be mild in flavor and mimic the texture of milk. So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage fits the bill nicely. Also, if you bothered reading the back of the carton before buying, you’d know it’s not intended to taste like coconuts. I’ve actually been avoiding trying this product for the last 2 years because I thought it would taste like coconut, and that’s not what I want to taste in my tea or cereal, or in a potato soup.

    I’ve been using the plain, unsweetened variety in everything from my tea and cereal to cooking and baking. It’s thick and creamy, and at 5% saturated fat/serving, it’s even richer than whole milk. It has not turned “clumpy” in my tea at all. This might be because I shake it really well to evenly distribute the fat.

    I think this is a really great product that just may trump my favorite Silk soymilk!

  41. Skwerl
    February 25th, 2012 @ 7:24 am

    I read the back and side of the carton before buying it. I have the carton right here in front of me. It says nothing about not tasting like coconut. The carton says, “Created for individuals in pursuit of a truly flavorful life,” and “best tasting dairy-free products on the market.” Seeing as it’s sold as “coconut milk,” the first ingredient is “coconut milk,” and there’s a giant picture of a coconut on the box, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect a coconut flavor, especially when there are no words to the contrary on the carton.

    I bought the unsweetened, plain coconut milk. To me it tastes like plain non-fat yogurt that’s been thinned with water. No flavor except for a strange tartness. And the consistency is almost gummy. I tried it in my coffee and over cereal. It was gross both ways.

  42. Rebecca Gardner
    June 28th, 2012 @ 3:06 pm

    We bought it this week for the first time. My kids liked it in smoothies. They also liked the SO Delicious Coconut Milk chocolate flavor to drink straight. I’m still trying to decide what I think about it because I have very little to compare it to at this point.

  43. Josh
    October 1st, 2012 @ 12:30 am

    I’ve been drinking Harmless Harvest Raw Coconut Water for the past year. Decided to try So Delicious Original Coconut Milk this weekend as I didn’t have time to make my weekly batch of fresh coconut milk. First of all I was totally disappointed when it had no taste at all. Secondly checkout the ingredients for something that suppose so be good and pure; sure has lots of BS. Basic recipe buy organic coconut flakes or fresh brown coconut and Harmless Harvest Coconut Water blend and strain it through a filtration bag. This would taste 10,000 better and have lots more nutrition. Google raw coconut milk recipes.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta