Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Applegate Farms Gluten Free Chicken Nuggets – GFCF

Posted on | June 23, 2009 | 11 Comments

June has been busy- in a good way- with the end of school and hosting my family for a reunion. July seems to be even more busy with vacations and summer activities for my family.  I will continue to post reviews and give-away info, but please be patient with me if it takes a while to get a review up or answer emails.
So on to the review . . . Applegate Farms sent me their gluten free chicken nuggets to try a  while back and to be honest, I wasn’t expecting much. The only other chicken nuggets I tried was Ian’s gluten free chicken nuggets, and I thought their cornmeal & chicken filling was pretty gross . .  and cheap. Is it too much to ask to have a chicken nugget with all chicken in the middle?
Thank goodness Applegate Frams didn’t let me down! If you read the Ian’s review, you might remember what fans my children are of Tyson’s chicken nuggets in the big, red, glossy bag. Well, their new favorite is Applegate Farms, hands down. I  asked what they thought, and this is what they said:
” I like the breading ’cause it lets me taste the chicken better”
“They are perfect for kids because they aren’t too big”
“The breading is just a little spicy and tastes super good”
These ready to heat/ fully cooked gluten free chicken nuggets come in an eight ounce box and are smaller than your tradition chicken nuggets ( think Chick-fil-A chicken nuggets- they are close to that size). The chicken is minimally processed and has a slightly crunchy coating that has a hint of spice to it.  The amount of breading is just right- not too thick, not too sparse, although a few of my nuggets were “bald” in a few spots.
My family and I could not tell they were gluten free, and now my children beg for these instead of their usual Tyson’s nuggets.  Overall, we are a big fan of these mighty tasty chicken nuggets and enjoyed them both prepared in the microwave and the oven.
**Please be careful to only purchase the nuggets that have GLUTEN FREE on the front of the package. Applegate Farms also makes a wheat based chicken nuggets, and the packaging is almost identical.
Pros: flavor, texture, minimally processed, addicting :) , product is consistently tested and verified to be gluten free in processing
Cons: nuggets are on the small size, box serves 2-3
Rating: 5 stars
Ingredients: chicken, water, cornstarch, salt, extract of oregano, battered and breaded with: water, rice flour, tapioca, dextrin, cornstarch, salt, spices and spice extractives including extractive of paprika and tumeric, garlic powder, onion powder, ground celery, breading set in vegetable oil
*To purchase, check the frozen food section of your local grocery or natural foods store.

Comments

11 Responses to “Product Review: Applegate Farms Gluten Free Chicken Nuggets – GFCF”

  1. Rachel Carlyle-Gauthier
    June 23rd, 2009 @ 2:17 pm

    Thank you for this review. I am very excited to try them. My kids love chicken nuggets. Because of price we always make our own. Now if Costco would just carry a big bag we would all be happy wouldn’t we! I predict within a year, costco will jump on board. Lets hope!

  2. Linda
    June 24th, 2009 @ 12:31 am

    Does Tyson make a gluten free nugget?

    Look forward to trying this, thanks!!!!

  3. Daphna
    June 24th, 2009 @ 12:45 am

    These sound interesting, but just so you know,
    Bell and Evans also has a whole line of GF breaded and unbreaded chicken products (including not only nuggets but also Parmesan chicken, Buffalo Chicken Wings etc.).

    We really like them, although we wish the boxes weren’t so small (basically two servings in each box). Like you said with the Applegate – they also make non-GF nuggets, but the packaging is fairly clearly labeled with different colors and a large “gluten free” on the front.

    But given this good review, we might look out for the applegate ones as well.

  4. Karen
    June 25th, 2009 @ 5:01 am

    Hey Linda – Tysons does NOT make GF nuggets. I am the only celiac/ gluten free person in our home, and my kids usually eat “regular” nuggets.

    Daphna, where are those sold? I would like to check them out!

  5. KrisAnn
    July 24th, 2009 @ 1:07 am

    Has anyone tried Ian’s gluten free chicken nuggets (or even fish sticks)? I see them in the freezer section of my local grocery store but am a little hesitant to try them. Any help would be appreciated.

  6. Karen
    July 25th, 2009 @ 4:20 am

    I have reviewed them actually! I didn’t care for them ( or their fish sticks), but you’ll have to read the review for yourself to see if you are interested. Click on the “Ians” category to the left, or here is the link:

    http://glutenfreefoodreviews.com/category/ians-product-reviews

  7. Cheyenne
    August 1st, 2009 @ 6:06 pm

    I LOVE the Applegate Farms chicken nuggets, but the comment about being careful not to confuse the 2 boxes is serious!!! These are by far the best nuggets I’ve tried, but they are hard to find.

    I found the GF nuggets once at Sprouts, then I could never find them again. I accidentally picked up 2 of the wheat nugget packages. When my niece was babysitting; both of my children told her they were fine to eat because the packages are almost exactly the same.

    She should have read the ingredients, but she didn’t.

  8. Karen
    August 4th, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

    Yah, i wish they would make the packing different for gluten free vs. regular. It can be very confusing!

  9. Kim
    February 3rd, 2011 @ 11:41 am

    I LOVE these nuggets. I always have them on hand for when I am in a bind.

  10. Wendell
    June 13th, 2011 @ 7:15 am

    Thank you for the review.

    My girlfriend and I just picked these up yesterday for her son at the newly opened Pam MacD’s Gluten free store in Burbank, CA and seeing your review definitely makes me more confident that he’ll enjoy them.

    After trying Ian’s which were far from enjoyable, these were a bright ray of light.

  11. Nicole
    January 4th, 2013 @ 12:59 pm

    Exciting news! Tyson now makes a GF nugget and tender! Found just today at a local Wal-mart (in upstate NY) Can’t find any info about it online yet-possibly a test release? But I got a bag for 5$ (18oz) and I can’t wait to try them.

    They were in the frozen entree section, I think under “Healthy Entrees” and the bag was green as opposed to the usual red color.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta