Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Pamela’s Products Wheat-Free Bread Mix- gluten-free

Posted on | March 12, 2007 | 9 Comments

pambread.JPG

Yes, good ‘ole Pamela has done it again!

This bread mix is just yummy! The bread should be mixed by a hand mixer and is simple to assemble. The dough spreads easily in the bread pan, where it rises a bit for 60 minutes. It doesn’t rise a lot, just to the top of the pan.

For best results bake this bread the full 70 minutes, as 65 minutes tends to leave it a bit too moist and soft. The crust is soft and chewy, not rock hard like other home-baked mixes. The bread slices easily with an electric knife and has a few nooks and crannies. Overall the flavor is mild, slightly sweet and tasty. The texture is more smooth and not at all crumbly. Best mix I have tried to date!

This mix may also be used for pie crust, pizza crust and sweet breads- the side panels have recipes for these items. (edited to add: I tried this mix to make pizza crust and it was way too sweet. I wouldn’t suggest it.)

PROS: soft yummy bread, great for sandwiches

CONS: long rise and bake time- be sure to plan ahead, slightly sweet

Rating: 5 stars

Try this bread for yourself! Click below for ordering information:

Ingredients: Sorghum flour, tapioca flour, sweet rice flour, brown rice flour, organic natural evaporated cane sugar, chicory root, white rice flour, millet flour, molasses and honey, rice bran, sea salt, xanthan gum, yeast packet ( active dry yeast.)

Comments

9 Responses to “Pamela’s Products Wheat-Free Bread Mix- gluten-free”

  1. Natalie
    April 19th, 2007 @ 3:47 pm

    I have actually never tried this bread mix. Have you ever tried it as a pizza crust? What would you recommend as the best mix for pizza crust? I would like to try to develop my own someday, but I need pizza in the meantime!

  2. Karen
    April 20th, 2007 @ 3:00 am

    Sadly enough, I haven’t found the perfect pizza crust mix- yet. I am hopeful it is out there! I actually have two more pizza crust mixes on my “to-buy” list. Let’s hope one of them is a winner!

    I will actually try this mix as a crust and post the results this weekend if that would help. In the meantime I have two completed reviews for crusts so far under my “lunch and dinner” category. So far, I would definately avoid any pre-frozen pizza crusts. I have yet to taste one that is actually decent. Wish me luck on my pizza experiment tomorrow!

  3. Kristina
    April 22nd, 2007 @ 9:21 pm

    This is my favorite bread mix by far. It was soft and lasted for awhile. Two thumbs way, way up.

  4. Karen
    April 26th, 2007 @ 12:43 am

    Natalie, I just tried this mix as a pizza crust and would NOT recommend it. The crust is just too sweet and kills the flavors of the toppings. I will include a more detailed description in a pizza crust review, but for now, pass on the crust idea. I was pretty disappointed.

  5. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com: Gluten free products for wheat allergies or celiac disease sufferers » Pamela’s Products Wheat-Free Bread Mix (Pizza Crust version) - gluten free
    May 24th, 2007 @ 4:35 am

    [...] have used this mix to make bread with great success, so when I realized the packaging displayed a recipe for pizza [...]

  6. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com - a place to share opinions about gluten free products » February’s Gluten Free Bread Give-Away!
    February 3rd, 2008 @ 4:47 am

    [...] 1)Pamela’s Products Bread Mix [...]

  7. Katrina
    September 18th, 2009 @ 5:23 am

    My boyfriend and I tried this bread mix a little while ago. Made it exactly as the package stated, but it didn’t rise or anything? Was almost a brick when it came out of the oven and just tasted like salt, what did we do wrong?

  8. Karen
    September 19th, 2009 @ 3:59 am

    Maybe the yeast was old/bad?

  9. Michelle Winner
    August 1st, 2012 @ 10:01 am

    I absolutely love this bread mix. I make it in my bread maker and it gets me excited to bring my lunch again!

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta