Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Pamela’s Products Baking & Pancake Mix

Posted on | March 25, 2007 | 7 Comments

Pancake stack

OOO, do I ever love this mix! This is a great pancake and baking mix, hands down. This product can be purchase anywhere from $6.29- $7.19 in my area, and even cheaper online via Amazon. The blend of brown, sweet rice & white rice flour and almond meal give this mix an unparalleled leg up on the others.

First and foremost, it makes the yummiest pancakes ever: These pancakes are light and flavorful, with no sticking to the roof of your mouth like some of the rice-flour based competitors. The mix blends easily with a whisk and pours easily onto a hot griddle. If you add a bit more oil, the edges turn out a bit crispier than usual, if you wish. I would highly suggest eating these pancakes immediately. I found out that is you keep them warmed on a plate they tend to get a bit soggy and squishy. They are so good, why wait, anyway?

Pamelas package

The package features yummy recipes for pancakes, waffles, cookies and muffins, with more recipes on the Pamela’s website. The chocolate chip cookie recipe is one of my favorites- my gluten-consuming friends just LOVE them. I also use this mix to make pumpkin and other sweet breads with fantastic results. This really is a wonderful all purpose mix.

Pros: Great basic mix for most of your baking needs

Cons: A bit pricey unless purchased in bulk.

Rating: 5 stars

Where Can I Buy This Mix?

Click the link below for more information:

INGREDIENTS: Brown Rice Flour, White Rice Flour, Cultured Buttermilk, Natural Almond Meal, Tapioca Starch, Sweet Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Grainless & Aluminum-free Baking Powder (sodium bicarbonate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, potato starch); Baking Soda, Sea Salt, Xanthan Gum

Comments

7 Responses to “Product Review: Pamela’s Products Baking & Pancake Mix”

  1. Kristina
    April 22nd, 2007 @ 9:52 pm

    I have only tried making the pancakes with this mix, but they were delicious. They were light and fluffy. Highly recommended

  2. Jen
    December 1st, 2007 @ 11:49 pm

    I bought this based on your review and I agree…YUM!!!!!! I can’t eat eggs, so I used my handy dandy egg replacer powder stuff mixed with water…and what do we have? A yummy saturday breakfast (and perhaps a dinner sometime, too)!!

    I might be remembering incorrectly, but I think I only paid 4.99 at my Kroger in Cary, NC. I’ll double check next time I’m there.

    Jen

  3. Dorothy
    April 6th, 2008 @ 12:24 am

    I have made the cornbread recipe (on the back of the large bag, and on the Pamela’s website as well), and my whole family loves it, wheat-eaters and all. I usually make two pans, one for each group, and everyone prefers the Pamela’s cornbread.

    Dorothy

  4. Gluten Free Food Reviews » Blog Archive » Blogging Break & Memory Themed Give-Away
    June 24th, 2008 @ 8:05 am

    [...] the give-away will be a bag of Pamela’s Products gluten free pancake mix, a spatula, and a bag of chocolate chips. No fancy rules to win, just reply to this post and share [...]

  5. Gluten Free Food Reviews » Blog Archive » I’m Back & The Give-Away Winner!
    July 7th, 2008 @ 5:15 am

    [...] onto the randomly selected give-away winner of a bag of Pamela’s Pancake mix, handy dandy spatula and tasty chocolate chips. Thanks to all who shared their [...]

  6. Gina
    July 14th, 2009 @ 9:23 pm

    Love this mix. I’ve made her chocolate chip cookies (even my husband and kids loved them). I also tried the biscuits – yummy. You also need to try her chocolate chunk cookie mix – divine!

    Gina

  7. Amelia
    September 1st, 2011 @ 4:44 pm

    I make these pancakes at least once a week. I add brown sugar and a bit of vanilla. We make several batches at a time and pop them in the toaster for the following 2-3 days. They are delicious!

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta