Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

October Gluten Free Give-Away: Let’s Do Lunch!

Posted on | October 21, 2009 | 47 Comments

I know, I know, better late than never ( I hope). For October, I am finally getting caught up on reviews and getting around to posting the give-away for this month. It is something anyone could use, and is also pretty tasty.
Michael Season’s has provided a 5 part gift bag- the gift bag consists of a “Green Bag Your Lunch” reusable lunch bag with handles for easy carrying, as well as 4 single serve packages of their baked snacks. Each snack bag is 100 calories and would make a great addition to your lunch.
Wanna win? Here is how you enter:
1) One entry per person; US residents only please
2) To enter, post a comment telling me your favorite lunch options when you are on the go.
To post a comment, simply click on the ” # COMMENTS” text under the title of this post.
3) Entries must be received by 11:59 pm on Tuesday, Occtober 27th
4) The winner will be announced via this site, via email to subscribers and also on my facebook page ( click HERE to become a fan) .
You may subscribe via feedburner at the top right section of the sidebar
Good Luck!

Comments

47 Responses to “October Gluten Free Give-Away: Let’s Do Lunch!”

  1. Chris
    October 21st, 2009 @ 10:25 am

    When we travel to PA for the holidays, there are not many options for our girls (both Celiac). I can stop at one of the many Sheetz on I-95, US-17,and in PA. Unfortunately, their menu leaves a lot to be desired for a gf lifestyle. So Daddy gets his to go and we head for Chick-Fil-A. We will usually bring a sandwich for the girls, but they will fill themselves on the waffle fries, cooked in separate vats. Not much, but the girls get excited when they see the Cows!

  2. Cara
    October 21st, 2009 @ 11:06 am

    I love soy crisps or baked chips, maybe some meat or not, some vegetables, cottage cheese, and a piece of fruit! :) I had no idea they had single serving bags, thanks for the giveaway! :)

  3. Sarah
    October 21st, 2009 @ 11:40 am

    Those sound great. I usually bring fruit as my lunch snack but I like snacky treats!

    If I’m out and about and I know my options will be limited, I just bring a protein bar or carry dried fruit or nuts. Keeping it simple. Though I do love that I can eat the fries at Wendy’s, there are none near me!

  4. christie @ honoring health
    October 21st, 2009 @ 12:48 pm

    I like to eat trail mix and fruit when I am on the go. It is really filling and travels easily!

  5. Kristin
    October 21st, 2009 @ 1:19 pm

    Being new to this whole celiac thing, I think my daughters favorite grab and go item is nuts. They are healthy, fast, and very portable.

  6. Michelle
    October 21st, 2009 @ 1:46 pm

    I have been hoping that a GF company would come up with 100 calorie snack bags. When I am subbing at my children’s school I always brown bag it. I would love to be able to have something yummy and good for me to munch on=)

  7. Jed
    October 21st, 2009 @ 2:15 pm

    I am into those new rice chips that look like dorritos. Especially the wasabi ones. So I usually grab a bag of chips, some gluten free bread and some cold cuts. Throw some mustard packets in the bag and you’ve got yourself an cute little sack lunch – easy on the stomach and the wallet!

  8. Chelle
    October 21st, 2009 @ 2:23 pm

    I live on cheese so it is often in my lunch bag when I’m eating on the run. I cut up little cubes and eat them with Nut Thins. I also eat some baby carrots with GF ranch dressing. Dessert is usually either GF cookies or a fruit pack. Don’t forget the sweet tea!

  9. Lois
    October 21st, 2009 @ 3:48 pm

    my choice on the go is fruit, in different forms (fresh, dried, sauce). Also in my lunch bag is usually a yogurt or cheese.
    and I LOVE the baked cheese curls for a snack.

  10. The Chatty Housewife
    October 21st, 2009 @ 4:02 pm

    Apples and adam’s peanut butter!

  11. Jenn
    October 21st, 2009 @ 4:05 pm

    My choice is Enjoy Life’s No Nuts trail mix.

  12. KrisAnn Baker
    October 21st, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

    I usually pack a lunch for work and it always has yogurt, fruit and usually some kind of leftovers (I always make extras!).

    When I’m travelling I bring KIND bars (so yummy!) and Glutino crackers and peanut butter. I love Peanut Butter & Co.’s white chocolate and dark chocolate peanut butters and they are labelled GF.

  13. Robin Batterson
    October 21st, 2009 @ 5:05 pm

    My on the go choices are fruit/ gf cereal bars like the Envirokids or SoyJoy.(want to try the new ones you reviewed today) If packing cooler bag, I might pack a salad, coldcuts rolled up or carrots and hummus. Sometimes some cheese and nut thins….Or if a microwave available, leftovers from the night before.

  14. Jenn
    October 21st, 2009 @ 6:10 pm

    My son’s favorite “on the go” snack options are Enjoy Life cocoa loco or very berry bars or he also enjoys the glutino pretzels.

  15. Victoria Snelling
    October 21st, 2009 @ 6:18 pm

    My choice for a quick on-the-go lunch is sliced luncheon meat, like turkey, rolled around a piece of string cheese. I’ll usually have several gluten-free pretzels. This is easy to transport and can be eating at my desk or in the car. Carrot sticks are a nice addition and the fiber makes this a very satisfying meal.

  16. Jessie
    October 21st, 2009 @ 6:48 pm

    My favorite recent discovery is Safeway’s instant Eating Right soups. The black bean and green pea ones are both gluten-free, and surprisingly tasty and filling.

  17. Shazia
    October 21st, 2009 @ 7:41 pm

    Amy’s Organic Soups are my choice for taking to work.
    On the go, I’ve taken gf bars, nuts, and dried fruit on flights, etc.

  18. Tiffany
    October 21st, 2009 @ 7:45 pm

    I eat a lot of left overs or frozen meals (generally Amy’s) I get from the organic store. I eat a lot of snacks like cottage cheese and cheese and crackers (nut thins). I didn’t know they had snack size bags. Love it.

  19. Betsy
    October 21st, 2009 @ 7:48 pm

    Gluntino pretzels and an apple are always good or any gluten free snack bar. I bring a lot of salads to work, but those do take some prep work – not really great for when I’m running late in the morning!

  20. Katie
    October 21st, 2009 @ 7:52 pm

    My favorite on the go gluten free snacks include string cheese, nuts, Clif’s organic twisted fruit, cut veggies, or a gf protein bar

  21. Carol Hartman
    October 21st, 2009 @ 8:39 pm

    I carry my lunch to work every day – usually a sandwich made from homemade GF bread, a piece of fruit, some GF cookies (Pamela’s, Enjoy Life) and a crunchy snack like Fritos or Cheetos (corn based). I’ve never tried Michael Seasons – I like to try them! Thanks!

  22. Stephanie D
    October 21st, 2009 @ 8:41 pm

    I always keep a GF protein bar(thinkThin)with me when I’m on the road. Pair that with a piece of fruit and I’m set!

  23. JC
    October 21st, 2009 @ 9:33 pm

    Veggie wrap is my fave lunch when I’m on the go!

  24. J B
    October 21st, 2009 @ 9:45 pm

    I eat lots of salads (no croutons, no bread), hamburgers (no bun on lettuce only), fresh fruit…Everywhere I go I clue them in on the GF way of life…Some of my local resturants even keep rice pasta and cook it in it’s own pot for me…I must say, it’s either that or I cannot eat in their establishment…With the economy the way it is, people are much more accomidating than ever before…Bravo to them, lucky to me…

  25. sommer
    October 21st, 2009 @ 11:15 pm

    I love to make quinoa pasta with marinara for dinner then put the leftovers in my lock-n-locks and take it to work…i think it tastes better the next day!

  26. Keegan
    October 21st, 2009 @ 11:53 pm

    I love my pop chips, cocoa roasted almonds, and jamfrakas peanut butter bliss bars. Oh and hummus is a main stay!

  27. Taca
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 12:09 am

    I love string cheese, small cans of tuna, some glutino crackers, vienna sausage and GF chips of some kind.

  28. Jenn
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 12:46 am

    I brown bag my lunch most every day with a turkey sandwich, apple, and string cheese.

  29. dee wilson
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 2:02 am

    I make up chicken salad and put it into small containers for lunch. Chicken, mayo, ginger, red onion, grapes, walnuts, and craisins. string cheese and fruit round out my gluten free lunches

  30. Steffi
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 4:02 am

    My favorite thing to eat when I’m in a hurry are the Thai Kitchen rice noodle soups. They’re just like the Ramen I used to eat, but I think they taste better, and they cook in about 3 minutes. It’s convienient.

  31. Terry
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 4:50 am

    I’d love some more GF snacks. I’m tired of the same old.

  32. Stacey
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 2:40 pm

    Turkey wrapped in a corn or rice tortilla with lettuce and tomato. Add kettle chips or rice works and Pamela’s/Kinnikinnick/Nana’s cookie and yo’ve got a great lunch. Always keep nuts and fruit on hand for a quick snack.

  33. Mindy
    October 22nd, 2009 @ 8:28 pm

    Fruits and veggies are my usual go-to snacks for on-the-go, but I do also like Larabars a lot. I’m finding that I have to watch my nut intake as they are causing me a lot of problems, especially almonds, so nuts are out but were a fave in the past. I also like the breakfast bars by Glutino but I don’t use these much as I also have to watch my carb intake.

  34. Cheri
    October 23rd, 2009 @ 2:20 pm

    My favorite snack is glutino pretzels twists or sticks. Or glutino crakers and peanut butter. I also love love love cheetos. So these Snack bags sound really good. I used to love sunchips. I am excited to see a GF verision of them!! Where can you find these snacks?

  35. michele
    October 23rd, 2009 @ 7:32 pm

    My favorite lunch for work is Progresso Chicken and wild rice soup it seems to be the only gfree soup I can find that I like!! There’s always trailmix and fruit in my desk to snack on.

  36. Cathleen
    October 25th, 2009 @ 9:35 am

    My favorite options for when we are on the go are baby carrots, string cheese sticks, Rice Chex, bananas and apples. Plenty of fresh veggies and fruits to provide antioxidants, fiber and enzymes, a protien source to help us stay full along with the fiber and a good crunchy in the Rice Chex.
    If in town without anything, I can run into a grocery store, grab bananas, cheese sticks and Rice Chex without having to prep or wash anything though a grabbing a container of zipper lunch bags lets everyone have thier own bag of Chex. Plus this is economical for a large family.

  37. Katrina (gluten free gidget)
    October 25th, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

    A nice big salad and a piece of fruit are my fav!

  38. Kelly
    October 26th, 2009 @ 9:30 pm

    These look wonderful! My sister and I both have Celiac disease and follow a gluten free diet. On the go we love to pack apples and peanut butter, raisins, nuts, and yogurt. Thank you for offering this wonderful giveaway to the gluten free community!

  39. Lisa (Healthy Bean Recipes)
    October 26th, 2009 @ 10:52 pm

    I like a good black bean salad or soup! Low fat, gluten free, high protein – perfection!

  40. Amber Barrett
    October 26th, 2009 @ 11:57 pm

    My favorite on the go lunch would have to sushi. I can easily pick it up at Whole Foods and its easy to eat. And gluten free :)

  41. Amber Barrett
    October 26th, 2009 @ 11:58 pm

    Cheri, I don’t where you live but every Whole Foods I have been to has carried them. They are super yummy!

  42. Carolyn
    October 27th, 2009 @ 6:26 pm

    Soy Joy bars, nuts, Thai Kitchen rice noodles, and sandwiches (if I plan ahead)

  43. Amy R
    October 28th, 2009 @ 4:46 pm

    For my daughter, I like to buy single-serving fruit cups, chips, and corn tortilla wraps with various fillings. A good, quick snack for on the go is to put some of the strawberry, chocolate or cinnamon Chex cereal into a baggie! We were so excited to see the BIG gluten free label on the FRONT of the Chex boxes!!! If a microwave is available, Hormel makes some decent beef stew or scalloped potatoes & ham microwave bowls that are clearly labeled gluten free! I <3 Hormel!

  44. Kendall Monroe
    October 28th, 2009 @ 4:51 pm

    My favorite on the go lunch option is a LARABAR. I work for the company and I live on these bars!

  45. Stephie
    October 28th, 2009 @ 4:56 pm

    If traveling I use Lara Bars or nuts, if I have a cooler I do cheese and glutino crackers.etc.

  46. Meredith
    October 28th, 2009 @ 5:35 pm

    Nature Valley Granola bars. They’re not certified as GF, but they pack well and are easiest for me. Otherwise, if I have time, I stop anywhere that will sell me a salad and go that route!

  47. Linda
    October 28th, 2009 @ 8:18 pm

    Peanut butter and Jelly in a rice tortilla wrap,Comfort bars, Bahuja snack mix, and a Mix One high fiber drink or a Muscle Milk.

  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta