Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Namaste Foods Pizza Crust- gluten free/ GFCF

Posted on | June 5, 2007 | 10 Comments

namaste pizza crust

This Namaste gluten free pizza crust mix is packaged in an unassuming brown and maroon paper bag. Each brown bag makes two 14 inch pizza crusts,and sells for $6.69 at my local health food store. A while back, Natalie, the Gluten Free Mommy, asked if I knew of a good pizza crust mix. At the time, I didn’t, but this is one of two contenders that may satisfy our gluten-free pizza cravings.

I made the two pizza crusts at the same time, and froze the second one for use later in the week. I wanted to see how the taste compared. However, the nice thing about this mix is that there are instructions on the bag if you only want to make one crust at a time.

When you open the bag, you are immediately overwhelmed by a heavenly Italian aroma- yes, the Italian seasoning is already premixed into the crust for extra flavor. Perfect!Preparing the mix is fairly simple, just add oil, water and mix for 3 minutes with a mixer. I would suggest using a stand mixer. The dough was easy to shape and I used my fingers to pat out the 14 inch crusts. I did use a bit of oil on my fingertips to prevent sticking. With this crust, you bake it for 10 minutes, add your toppings, then bake an additional 8 -12 minutes. I found with my recipe, 11 additional minutes was perfect; anything less than that produced a soggier crust.

The result was simply wonderful. Simply heavenly. Simply flavorful. The crust was perfectly crispy on the bottom and nice and chewy in the center. It didn’t have the typical rice flour taste and graininess. In fact, my gluten-consuming husband remarked on how good it was and how good the crust turned out.

When I tried my second pizza ( the one that I froze), I found the results were just “Ok.” I didn’t get the same fresh, crispy/chewy experience. I would suggest making a fresh crust each time for best results. Overall, this was a great crust that I am happy to buy again.

Pros: Perfect thin crust experience- crispy and chewy with a wonderful aroma and flavor, food allergy friendly

Cons: Probably not the best mix for a thicker crust

Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Where Can I Buy This Pizza Crust?

Namaste – Pizza Crust From: glutenfree.com


or in bulk here:


Ingredients:Brown Rice Flour, Tapioca Flour, Arrowroot Flour, Italian Seasoning, Xanthan Gum, Cream of Tartar, Baking Soda, Salt, and Ascorbic Acid.

Comments

10 Responses to “Product Review: Namaste Foods Pizza Crust- gluten free/ GFCF”

  1. Natalie
    June 6th, 2007 @ 10:03 pm

    Thanks so much! I am going to go and try and find this mix. My mom and husband will be desperate to feed me once this baby comes.

  2. Karen
    June 7th, 2007 @ 2:50 am

    No problem! Please let me know what you think of it, and best wishes as you due date approaches- two kids are fun!

  3. Colleen
    December 6th, 2007 @ 12:03 am

    I was a little hesitant to try this mix because the only other Nameste mix I tried (the spice cake) was awful! Anyhow, I trusted your rave reviews and bought it, and I’m very glad I did! This is sooooo delicious! Very tasty and not at all grainy or ricey! I had been using GFPantry’s french bread and pizza mix, but this is soooo much easier and much tastier!

    Thanks!

    Colleen

  4. Karen
    December 6th, 2007 @ 2:42 pm

    Welcome Colleen! I am glad you liked it! It is a different type of mix, and much better than a grainy bland slab of rice bread. I look forward to reading more of your opinions!

  5. Kelly
    January 4th, 2008 @ 2:13 am

    My son has an egg allergy. Are there eggs in the ingredients? Also, are there any good casein (dairy) free cheese subsitutes that would work for pizza? I haven’t been able to find any good ones that didn’t contain casein.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated. I’m trying to find foods my 3 year old will eat. Right now it is just the Wellshire nuggets and Hebrew National Hot dogs. He won’t eat rice pasta.

  6. Karen
    January 9th, 2008 @ 5:40 am

    Kelly, I will double check the ingredients for egg for you. If he won’t eat rice pasta, have you tried the corn or bean based varieties?

  7. Allison
    October 30th, 2008 @ 8:54 pm

    Me and my brother really enjoyed how easy this mix was to prepare and the taste was great. There was just one problem… It had a bit of a laxative effect on both of us. Turns out arrowroot historically has been used as a mild laxative. Arrowroot flour is the third ingredient in this mix and we sure felt the effect.

  8. Karen
    October 31st, 2008 @ 4:56 am

    Oh no! That’s not good!

  9. TJ'sMama
    July 10th, 2011 @ 10:57 am

    We’ve been using this crust for our multiple food allergy son for about a year now. It is free of the top 8 allergens (so no egg and no soy, along with all the others). My son LOVES this crust. He’s a picky eater but he loves this pizza crust and I also use it to bread fish and pan fry it since all the fish sticks I’ve found have at least on of his allergens. It makes a delicious crust on fish. As for arrowroot, I haven’t found it to be an issue for my little guy. Sorry to hear it is a laxative for others.

  10. Norma S.
    July 10th, 2011 @ 11:59 am

    This pizza crust is totally the BEST! I have multiple food allergies (8 total) and can make up this easy to use crust, pile it with sauce, seasoned ground chicken, pineapple chunks and mushrooms and don’t even miss the cheese! It’s even good as a bread substitute when you are having pasta (I can eat the rice pasta) and sauce instead of cheating with the garlic bread your friends are eating.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta