Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Namaste Foods Cookies Mix- gluten free / GFCF

Posted on | August 6, 2007 | 14 Comments

Namaste Foods cookie mix

I have tried Namaste’s brownie mix, and since I loved it so much I was really excited to see if this mix was just as good. I purchased the mix at Nature’s Pantry for $5.99 (gulp!). At this price, I really hoped it would be worth it. This mix makes 2 dozen medium sized cookies.

Mixing the cookie dough was downright disastrous. Upon adding the oil, water and eggs, I found the dough to be very thick and oily, and hard to handle. I ended up using my hands to rolls small balls of dough since the drop cookie method was not an option. Ugghhh, what a mess! I had to keep washing my hands because the oil felt disgusting on my hands. I ventured a taste of the dough ( as always), and instantly regretted it. It tasted AWFUL- very gritty with a bitter aftertaste, like it had too much baking powder in it.

Ok, time for the ultimate test- baking. Initially I baked 6 cookies plain, with no added ingredients; and another 6 cookies with added bittersweet chocolate chips and walnuts.

Namaster cookie mix with chocolate chips and nuts

Fresh from the oven, the plain cookies had a strange grainy texture and crumbled when I took a bite. The cookie seemed to be dry with a bitter aftertaste; the same taste as when I sampled the dough, only it was not as strong. The cookies with added chocolate and wlanuts were only slightly better in flavor, since the added ingredients masked the bitter aftertaste a bit.

Overall, I was dissappointed, and felt like I had wasted $6. I hope that others out there had a better expereince, because I really do like this company and many of their other products.

Pros: free from many common allergens

Cons: bad aftertaste, dough is messy to work with, higher price

Rating: 1 1/2 stars

Hoping you’ll have a better outcome?

Here is where you can buy this cookie mix:

Ingredients:Evaporated Cane Juice, Sweet Rice Flour, Tapioca Flour, Rice Milk Powder, Cream of Tartar, Baking Soda, Salt, Xanthan Gum and Vanilla.

Comments

14 Responses to “Product Review: Namaste Foods Cookies Mix- gluten free / GFCF”

  1. Neena
    August 6th, 2007 @ 10:13 am

    Thanks for saving me the 6 bucks! I probably would have tried this since my son is allergic to many of the allergens that this is free of. However, now I think that I will pass.

  2. Natalie
    August 6th, 2007 @ 1:56 pm

    It’s official. I refuse to try anything unless you review it first =)
    I agree- this mix needs a lot of improvement.

  3. Alisa
    August 7th, 2007 @ 2:26 pm

    Ooh, yes I hadn’t tried that one yet, bummer. I had good luck with the cookie mixes from Gluten-Free Essentials, including their speedy-bake line. All turned out tasty, and everyone gobbled them up. They are at http://www.gfessentials.com. Not sure if you already reviewed these? Anyway, they are free of gluten, casein, tree nuts, peanuts, soy (some do have soy lecithin I noticed), etc.

  4. Karen
    August 8th, 2007 @ 12:51 pm

    Yes, GF Essentials has some great mixes. I actually have reviewed the cocoa mudslide and chocolate chip cookies mixes last month( you can find them in the “cookies & biscotti category)and I have two cake reviews prepped from their mix line slotted for August. Do you have a favorite Gluten-free Essentials mix?

  5. anne
    April 8th, 2008 @ 2:57 am

    I had exactly the same result with Namaste’s cookie mix and thought I did something wrong. My kids wouldn’t even help me make them, they were so greasy and spit it out when tasted. Thank you for reassuring me that it was the mix and not me.. I also just tried Namaste’s pizza mix. I never got to the baking part of the recipe since it was so loaded with herbs and spices it smelled over powering. I was baking this for my almost 4 year old who is allergic to wheat and eggs etc. The front packaging gives no clue that it is preseasoned. Of course the ingredient list does. Thank you for your site. It is wonderful.

  6. Karen
    April 11th, 2008 @ 1:25 am

    Welcome Anne! yes,k the cookie mix is less than great, isn’t it? I do like the pizza crust, but because it is so flavorful, my kids won’t eat it. Did your child like it?

  7. Barbara M
    October 16th, 2008 @ 8:59 pm

    I just tried the Namaste Brownies. Yum…. I will stay away from this mix though. The Blondies are suppose to be good too.

  8. Kendramama
    November 14th, 2008 @ 5:57 pm

    You know, I’ve found ALL the gluten-free lines to be a bit hit-or-miss, and although I do agree with the Namaste Cookies to be a bit less than wonderful, I still have to say in their defense that they’re MUCH better than a few others I have tried. Perhaps cookies are not the ideal “goodies” to bake if you’re trying to find the ultimate comfort food in a gluten-free- let alone all the other -free (casien, wheat, soy, nuts of any sort, etc.) which all products that Namaste has to offer are.
    I am a longtime customer of theirs, and found nothing but rave reviews on many sites for their products, which first prompted me to try ordering; their Brownies, Spice Cake (with a Carrot Cake bonus kit enclosed), Blondies, Choc and Vanilla Cakes… the list goes on and on. My family (also pretty picky) ADORES all of these. So don’t discount how great they are just by one not-as-great product, ok?
    Even their website, namastefoods.com, has everything from alternate recipes, all their other products, and their pasta stuff too. I think they’re even offering frostings, biscuit/pie crust and flour now too. And once when I couldn’t get the Brownies to bake right (I’m at high altitude) I called their 1-800 # for help and they were super nice- even sent me a free mix. How many companies would do that?
    So even if the cookies weren’t that hot, please try some of their other stuff- you won’t be disappointed!

  9. Karen
    December 8th, 2008 @ 4:54 pm

    Hey Kendramama, I think if you will explore my site, you will realize I would never discount a whole line of products based on one mix/product that I did not care for. In fact, the Namaste pizza mix is one of my favorites.

    However, I would caution you about trusting all the “rave” reviews on sites that sell GF products- they want you to buy the products, so of course they will publish “rave” reviews to get you to open your wallet. Unfortunately I purchased too many GF products based on this concept, which is why I started this site, a place that GF consumers can share their honest opinions (whether we agree or not) to stop wasting money on less than stellar products and discover what is really great out there without cons or gimmicks to get you to buy something. I hope you will share more of your opinions on other products you have tried, I look forward to reading them.

  10. mzklever
    April 22nd, 2009 @ 7:05 pm

    I have had great luck with this cookie dough. I did add vanilla, molasses, ginger, cloves, and cinnamon. (I apologize for not having measurements, but I do everything by eye.) The dough was more like the consistency of a thick cake batter. I used a relatively large soup spoon, and sort of poured the spoonful onto the pan. It didn’t run too much, but it did flatten out a bit. When they were done (keep an eye on them so they don’t burn), they tasted and felt exactly like a regular, gluten loaded ginger snap. I made these at Christmas, and even the non-GF family members loved them.

    I’ve found that no matter what company makes the mix, they ALL have to be doctored in some way to be edible. I am a firm believer that with enough vanilla, cinnamon, and brown sugar, pretty much anything is tasty!

  11. Yoyo
    April 8th, 2010 @ 6:11 pm

    Gosh, really? I recently made these and my husband and I LOVED them. Of course, I changed some things. I used half margarine and half coconut oil instead of the oil the recipe asked for (it sounded gross to me). I then added a bag of chocolate chips and they came out great. Maybe the chocolate disguises the aftertaste because I did not find odd flavors at all. I am making some more this week because they went so fast.

  12. Karen
    April 11th, 2010 @ 11:09 pm

    Yup, really. :) I tested them based on the packaging instructions and they were less than stellar. Maybe the coconut oil balanced out the flavor? That might be the key to making this mix taste much better. Thanks for sharing the idea!

  13. Donald Masten
    October 28th, 2010 @ 5:27 am

    Just wanted to comment on Namaste chocolate cake mix. My wife bakes me a cake a week and this is the BEST chocolate cake mix that I have had yet. Also it stays fresh and moist much longer. I tried the vanilla cake mix and it is very good also. I thought we picked up the wrong mix because it tasted like a spice cake so we tried another vanilla and it was the same. It is delicious even though it does not look or taste like vanilla.

  14. Robin
    November 25th, 2010 @ 9:42 am

    My family and I think the Namaste cookie mix comes out great. The bags I buy do not specify what oil to use so I use 100% coconut oil and I add semisweet chocolate chips. We also love Namaste pancake mix.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta