Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Kinnikinnick KinniToos Chocolate Sandwich Creme Cookies- wheat free/ gluten free/ dairy free/ casein free/ egg free/ and trans fat free

Posted on | July 25, 2007 | 11 Comments

Kinnikinnick KinniToos chocolate sandwich cookies gluten dairy wheat free

Ok, so I had to find out what all the fuss was about. I have a few GF online friends that have raved about these cookies. However, I was hesitant. At $5.39 for an 8 ounce package of cookies, I thought the price was a bit steep. My friends assured me it was worth every penny, so I bowed to peer pressure and picked them up at my local natural foods store. I lucked out and purchased their last package of these cookies. The cashier, who also happens to be the owner, assured me these cookies were one of their best sellers in the gluten free section. I felt a little more confident in my purchase, and headed home just in time for my kiddos snack time. I figured they would be the ultimate test to see if these cookies are, in fact, the best gluten free Oreo alternative.

Well, my kiddos and I were not disappointed. These cookies are simply yummy. The chocolate cookies are crunchy, but not hard, and the cream center was smooth, creamy and perfectly sweet. I was amazed! These cookies are really really good, and if you are one that missed your Oreo dunk tradition, look no further. This is your cookie. The chocolate cookie part is not perfect- kind of light and sugary- but that was what I was expecting with this gluten free cookie after looking at the ingredients.

My my gripe with these cookies are with the cream filling. First, there isn’t enough cream in the middle- just a touch more would make them perfect. Also, the cream is applied in a donut shape:

Kinnikinnick chocolate creme cookies gluten dary free

This results in gaps and spaces in the cookie- a little disappointing considering the price.

Pros: Decent flavor, texture, perfectly crunchy, best GF oreo substitute out there so far!

Cons: skimped on the cream filling, a bit pricey, sugary sweet chocolate cookie may be too much for some

Overall Rating: 4 stars

Where Can I Buy These Yummy Cookies?


Kinnikinnick – KinniToos Choc. Cream Sandwich Cookies

From: glutenfree.com

Ingredients: Icing(Icing Sugar(may contain 2-3% corn starch), Palm Fruit Oil (Non Hydrogenated), Vanilla Flavor, Soy Lecithin, Salt), Sugar, Pea Starch, Potato Starch, Palm Fruit Oil (Non Hydrogenated), White Rice Flour, Cocoa Powder, Water, Tapioca Starch, Glucose, Pea Protein, Sodium Carboxy Methylcellulose, Salt, Pea Fibre, Vanilla Flavor, Caramel colour, Guar Gum, Inulin, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin, Ammonium Bicarbonate

Comments

11 Responses to “Product Review: Kinnikinnick KinniToos Chocolate Sandwich Creme Cookies- wheat free/ gluten free/ dairy free/ casein free/ egg free/ and trans fat free”

  1. Peter Egbert
    November 6th, 2007 @ 10:28 pm

    I totally agree with your review. This cookie is truelly a oreo subsitute. In fact in my hard headed opinion it is a “real” cookie.

  2. Karen
    November 7th, 2007 @ 12:46 am

    Yes, I totally agree! Since I have only been gluten free for 18 months, I still remember what “real gluten food” tastes like, and there is no sacrifice with this cookie. It is excellent.

  3. seamaiden
    January 27th, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

    Darned straight! These are totally yummy cookies. 5/5 from me, too! haha. But I don’t buy them anymore, because if I do, I will just gobble them up! The hazards of yummy cookies…

    -Sea

  4. Karen
    January 27th, 2008 @ 9:24 pm

    No kidding Sea! these cookies don’t lasta day at my house- my kids like them just as much as I so!

  5. kate
    March 9th, 2008 @ 5:37 pm

    I love these cookies! And the vanilla version is just as good!

  6. Jennifer
    August 6th, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

    My daughter and I tried these cookies and were not impressed. My daughter loves the Midel version of Oreos. The flavor on the Midel cookies seems much richer than the KinniToos.

  7. bluesh4rk
    September 20th, 2008 @ 4:02 am

    I agree, these are great cookies. I was very happily surprised when I had my first bite of them and I have grown to love them even more as I work my way through the package. I got these at Mad Woman Foods in Minneapolis, MN which is a small GF store that also has bakery items and waffle cones & ice cream! I am also impressed that these cookies have decent nutritionals… I am trying to lose weight and they are not too high in calorie and will be able to stay in my diet.

  8. Katie
    December 3rd, 2008 @ 4:41 am

    Honestly, I am not a fan of these cookies. I think that they leave a very odd after taste and that the texture is too strange. I am sure that they would be good in baking tho. I have heard of ppl using these to make “oreo” cream pies with. I will pass on the cookies tho. That being said, my two roommate, both who no dietary restrictions, love these. They finished my package of them in a day or so.

  9. Karen
    December 8th, 2008 @ 4:45 pm

    Thanks for the feedback Katie. I wish they were like “real” oreos, but this is as close to the “real deal” as I have found so far. Other sandwich cookies- like Midel brands, are REALLY hard to bit into, it’s hard to enjoy a cookie when you are worried your tooth might break!

  10. liseetsa
    February 27th, 2011 @ 1:41 pm

    Midel cookies are not peanut-free. These cookies were not as hard as authentic oreos but otherwise, I could not tell a difference. Much better aftertaste than the “real” oreos. I’ll take this over killing my child with a trace of peanut anyday! My husband is trying to make a pie crust. And my children are inhaling the rest. Yum!

  11. Yvette
    August 26th, 2011 @ 10:14 am

    These are the best. I agree they are pricey, but I disagree that it needs more icing in the middle. They are perfect as they are.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta