Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

In the News: Are the new Burger King fries really gluten free?

Posted on | January 2, 2012 | 2 Comments

I have been reading all about the new and improved fries at Burger King that are supposed to be gluten free. Could it be true?  If so, this might be a nice alternative for kids or those of us that are out and about and don’t mind a hot and salty snack now and then. In fact, their ingredient list looks like it has gluten free friendly ingredients (potatoes, soybean oil, modified potato starch, rice flour, salt, leavening (disodium dihydrogen pyrophasphate, sodium bicarbonate), dextrose, xanthan gum, sodium acid pyrophosphate to preserve color). But in reality, all the gluten free ingredients in the world won’t matter unless cross contamination issues are addressed and prevented.

Please be careful! Before consuming, ask your local Burger King manager if they use a dedicated fryer for their new french fries, to prevent cross contamination from being fried in the same oil as onion rings or other gluten containing entrees or sides. Also, if they have a dedicated fryer, obtain reassurance that staff has been trained to ensure the fryer remains gluten free- it only takes one sloppy employee to ruin a whole fryer of gluten free oil!

While I have read accounts of GF customers that enjoyed the new fries,  I also read stories of customers left with upset stomachs and other reactions from gluten cross contamination. So, bottom line is, be careful.

Have you had an experience with Burger King’s new fries?

(Photo from general search on Flickr)

Comments

2 Responses to “In the News: Are the new Burger King fries really gluten free?”

  1. Samantha
    January 13th, 2012 @ 9:41 am

    Wow!! This is the first time I have heard of Burger King claiming gluten free french fries. I think I will stick to McDonalds fries. My 3 yr old is actually allergic to gluten and he had never had a problem with McD’s.Im not going to take a chance, I’ll let others be the guinea pigs.

  2. Chantelle
    January 14th, 2012 @ 3:36 pm

    Carls Jr homestyle fries are gluten free and I’d eat them over BK any day.

    McDonald fries are not gluten free. “Natural beef flavoring” is added which contains wheat.
    http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/getnutrition/ingredientslist.pdf

    Hot Dog on a Stick also uses a natural flavoring on the fries that has wheat in it.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta