Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Ians Chicken Nuggets- gluten free/ GF/CF, allergy friendly

Posted on | November 28, 2007 | 11 Comments

Gluten free chicken nuggets

I really like making my own chicken tenders and nuggets. I use gluten free corn flake crumbles, a bit of egg and cooking and oil, and sha-zam! A chicken dish that my kids inhale in a matter of seconds. When I saw the Ians gluten free chicken nuggets in my local grocery store, I was really curious. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a quick version of my kids favorite snack right in my freezer? My children are not gluten free and are huge fans of Tysons nuggets, but I try to feed them gluten free whenever I can. With our family history of allergies, the less major allergens the better. It can’t hurt, right?

gluten free chicken nuggets

This eight ounce box contains two servings of nuggets. I actually use the term “nugget” loosely here. These Ian’s gluten free chicken nuggets are more like balls, and may be prepared in the microwave or in the oven. True to form, I tried to microwave first, then the oven. The oven produces a crisper nugget, but I didn’t notice that much of a difference in the overall flavor. The coating on the nuggets is made of corn flake crumbles, cornmeal and corn flower, and definitely has a strong cornmeal flavor and texture. The corn coating appears cracked as well after cooking.

gluten free chicken nuggets

The inside of this chicken nugget is interesting at best, as it is fairly dry and peculiar. To be honest, I wasn’t sure if it was actually chicken! After examining the box I realized the filling for these nuggets isn’t just chicken- it is chicken mixed with more cornmeal as a filler. Yuck. The overall flavor and texture of the nuggets was very poor and I will not buy them again. Ever. This might be Ok for a kid who doesn’t know any better ( it is low in sugar and the chicken is made with no added antibiotics and hormones, all natural) but even my kids wouldn’t touch it after seeing the inside. Their reaction? ” No Mom, we want the *real* homemade chicken nuggets- those look gross!”

Enough Said.

PROS: All natural, free from many major allergens, natural hormone/antibiotic free chicken ingredients

CONS: flavor, taste, appearance, interior texture. Corn overload. Yuck!!!

Rating: 1 star

Click HERE for package photo and nutrition information. Ian’s Chicken nuggets is about half way down the page.

Comments

11 Responses to “Product Review: Ians Chicken Nuggets- gluten free/ GF/CF, allergy friendly”

  1. Jen
    December 1st, 2007 @ 4:29 pm

    I’ve seen these in the store, but have never tried them.

    I have found some that I like though…I bought the Country Fried Chicken Tenderloins. You can see the brand here http://allergyfreefoods.com/

    I bought mine on sale at Harris Teeter about a month ago. I need to look at other grocery stores to see who else has them. I found these tenders to be quite tasty. The come in a white bag with the logo found on top of the webpage. I recommend trying them. :)

    Thank you so much for your reviews. I found out 2.5 months ago that I’m allergic to wheat and eggs, and your blog has helped me SOOO much.

    Jen

  2. Karen
    December 1st, 2007 @ 10:12 pm

    Welcome Jen! Those do sound yummy-I’ll have to track those down. I look forward to hearing more of your opinions and suggestions!

  3. Neena
    December 2nd, 2007 @ 3:30 am

    Thanks for saving me the aggravation. These look awful!

  4. wyattsmom
    December 4th, 2007 @ 4:56 pm

    I was recently diagnosed in October and have been frantically searching for things I have been so use to eating. These were an extreme disappointment for me as well. Ian’s fish sticks weren’t as bad but they weren’t great either. Thanks for the tip on the country fried chicken tenderloins I can’t wait to try them!

  5. Sheltie Girl
    December 8th, 2007 @ 2:29 pm

    You are so right about these…bland and yuck. I bought them once and my children would only taste them. I had to throw the rest of the box out.

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  6. Natalie
    December 9th, 2007 @ 1:56 am

    Jude, my almost two year old, would not even try these! GROSS! :)

  7. Ginger
    December 9th, 2007 @ 9:52 pm

    I agree! The Allergy Free Foods chicken nuggets are amazing. They have a website and they have several varieties.

  8. kim
    October 13th, 2008 @ 2:14 am

    Yeah I have had Celiac for 3yrs and I tried Ians ?GF nuggets 2yrs ago, I forgot how gross they are I bought them again and choked down 5 of them I hope the dog will eat the other 5 LOL

  9. cathy
    June 4th, 2010 @ 2:43 pm

    You are right on. Any chicken nugget that you have to closely inspect and pull apart to see if it has any chicken in it is not worth buying. These are disgusting and a huge dissapointment. After pulling apart every nugget that came in the box, I found only one nugget that conatainedd one small piece of real chicken and it was a bout the size of a small pea. That is it–OUT OF THE WHOLE BOX! It doesn’t even taste like chicken but like corn meal. It is basically a fried corn meal nugget. yuck!

  10. Nathan
    December 5th, 2011 @ 5:30 pm

    These are actually my favorite chicken nuggets! Seeing all of the bad reviews is like, saddening. Lol

  11. lena
    September 17th, 2012 @ 4:35 pm

    Yes we tried Ian’s corn nuggets and were also disappointed. They were mushy and had too much corn on them. Definitely had better nuggets than these. We will not buy them anymore..”Cornmeal in a ball”.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta