Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Glutino Sans Gluten Free Plain Premium Bagels- gluten free/ wheat free

Posted on | November 24, 2007 | 11 Comments

000_0289.JPG

Before going gluten free 18 months ago, I lived on bagels. Loved them. Especially with cream cheese and sliced strawberries, peanut butter, or strawberry jam . . . yummm. And before last week, I hadn’t tried a gluten free bagel because I convinced myself a decent tasting replacement just wasn’t possible. I am not sure why I picked up this package of Glutino Sans Gluten Free Premium Plain Bagels and plopped it in my basket, but I did. And boy am I glad!

These bagels are sold in packages of five for $5.79 in the frozen foods section of my local grocery store, and are double packaged for ultimate freshness.

I first thawed my bagel in the microwave for 40 seconds before slicing it and placing it in my preheated oven on a piece of tin foil ( I don’t have a dedicated gluten free toaster in my home- yet.). I baked it until it was golden brown on the top. I removed it and immediately smothered it with cream cheese, as I used to do before my celiac diagnosis.

000_0293.JPG

Yum.

I found the bagel to have the perfect thickenss and size for a satisfying breakfast or snack. The exterior was crisp and crunchy, the interior soft and chewy, but a bit of a springy texture. However, this did not take away from the product. I found the flavor to be gentle and perfect for spreads and toppings. I did not detect any dryness or graininess.

I don’t miss my “old” bagels anymore. The only thing I like better is the sesame flavor! (Look for the review tomorrow!)

However, on the down side, this bagel must be toasted for maximum flavor and texture. If thawed and sliced, it crumbles more and resembles a typical piece of rice bread- slightly dry and grainy. Therefore, if you wish to make a bagel sandwich, please toast the entire bagel. You’ll be glad you did. This gluten free product is also high in fat- 16 grams of fat per bagel. Note the nutritional information of the package is for 1/2 a bagel, but I don’t know anyone that just eats a half, after thawing and toasting . . .

PROS: Crunchy and chewy when toasted, pleasant but mild flavor, closely resembles a “regular” bagel

CONS: untoasted eating is not recommended, high in fat

Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Where Can I Buy Glutino San Gluten Free Premium Plain Bagels?

Glutino - Premium Plain Bagels
Glutino – Premium Plain Bagels

From: glutenfree.comIngredients: Corn mix (corn starch, skim milk powder, evaporated cane juice, salt, glucono-delta-lactone, pectin, sodium bicarbonate, sodium alginate, modified vegetable cellulose), water, tapioca starch, margarine (palm and palm kernel oils, soy lecithin), skim milk powder, evaporated cane juice, liquid egg whites, safflower oil, liquid yolks, guar gum, yeast, salt, thiamine, niacin, vitamin B6, riboflavin, iron, calcium Read what Gluten Free For Me  , Going Gluten Free, or Ellen from I am Gluten Free  say about these bagels!

Comments

11 Responses to “Glutino Sans Gluten Free Plain Premium Bagels- gluten free/ wheat free”

  1. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com - a place to share opinions about gluten free products » Glutino Sans Gluten Free Premium Sesame Bagels- gluten free/ wheat free
    December 9th, 2007 @ 2:45 am

    [...] overall texture and density were comparable to the plain flavor ( click HERE to read the review for more details). The only difference was the generous coating of sesame seeds [...]

  2. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com - a place to share opinions about gluten free products » Oh no! Glutino bagel availability issue
    January 28th, 2008 @ 2:42 am

    [...] response to questions and comments from my readers, I tried to figure out why no one can find our beloved Glutino bagels anywhere, and this is what I [...]

  3. west palm
    August 12th, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

    the last two bags i bought have a horrible waxy after taste. I used to love these bagels..what happened?!?!

  4. Karen
    August 12th, 2009 @ 6:09 pm

    I think they might have changed the recipe/ formulation for them- my last bag wasn’t that great either :(

  5. Elizabeth
    September 8th, 2009 @ 3:41 am

    I love these, my only complaint is that if I am paying more than $1 bagel, it needs to come pre-sliced!

  6. Janna
    October 18th, 2009 @ 6:44 pm

    I absolutely agree. I started eating them on my diet Fall ‘08 – Winter ‘09. Then summer came and didn’t buy them for a while. They were awesome – light & fluffy, though expensive, but only got them when I really wanted them. Then, the last 2 bags I bought Sept-Oct ‘09, they are horrible! The texture is so dry! I’m so disappointed because I thought they actually tasted better that regular bagels and now they don’t even compete. I’m really sad. I’m thinking about contacting them in hopes they might do something about it.

  7. Beth Register
    November 4th, 2009 @ 2:43 am

    I was thrilled to find the gluten free bagels in a Publix Supermarket in Tallahassee, FL. I slice them in three pieces and toast them and eat them with cream cheese.

    The stores in my hometown are beginning to carry some gluten free products, but not the ready prepared breads.

  8. Beth Register
    November 4th, 2009 @ 2:46 am

    I was thrilled to find the gluten free bagels at a Publix supermarket in Tallahassee, FL.

    I slice them into three pieces and eat one slice each day with cream cheese. They are crunchy and you cannot tell them from the regular bagels.

    Wal Mart and Winn Dixie in my home town of Perry, FL are stocking more and more of gluten free products, but I have not found any of the ready prepared breads.

  9. tp
    August 25th, 2010 @ 6:45 am

    I hated glutino bagels the first time I ever tried them- then i do this trick that is the best- I slice them in 4 slices- soooo very much better- they are so much crisper and taste better

    and i like the cinn. raisin ones- i cut them in 4 and toast them- i always toast my glutino bagels on the highest setting and I even take a bagel slice it in 4-5 slices and put them on a cookie sheet and top them with sauce, cheese, pepperoni and sometimes chicken pieces and bake 400 degrees for 11 minutes- awesome!

    and if you slice them thin enough they are super for burgers and cold cuts, etc…

    or dice them into meatloaf- super, or place a slice in french onion soup and top with mozzarella cheese- all so yummy

  10. Joyce Ros
    December 31st, 2010 @ 10:48 am

    These were the WORST bagels I ever ate! After spending $6.99 for 5 bagels, it broke my heart to have to through them away. They were as hard as a rock – I couldn’t even eat them after they were defrosted then slightly toasted. Thought I found a bagel I could eat -very disappointed.

  11. Alison
    January 10th, 2011 @ 2:10 pm

    I tried the glutino poppy seed bagels today and I think there is something that tastes of seaweed in them ….yuck!

    The Glutino Fiber bread rocks though. Best bread I have found on the market for toast

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta