Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Gluten-Free Pantry – Angel Food Cake Mix

Posted on | April 9, 2007 | 17 Comments

angelcake.JPG angelfoodbox.JPG

****Sadly, this mix has been discontinued and deserves a moment of silence. I am so sad :( ********

Right here you have a little slice or heaven. Or it could be a big slice, depending on how hungry you are. This gluten-free angel food cake mix is so simple to make and tastes even better than the “real” thing. Yes, it is that good!!

The 16 ounce mix ($4.89) makes one regular sized angel food cake, and I would guess enough to feed at least 8 people.  To prepare, all you add is gluten free vanilla and warm water. Now, here’s the tricky part. You need to mix this in a sturdy stand mixer- don’t even attempt to do so with a hand mixer. You mix it on high for TEN MINUTES ( yes, you read that correctly.) I used my kitchen-aid mixer and discovered that for the first 6-7 minutes I had to drape a towel over the mixer because the cake mixture splattered everywhere. I was able to remove the towel when the mixture thickened up. ( of course, be cautious if you do this so the towel doesn’t get caught in the beaters). I learned this the hard way- the fist time I made this mix, it splattered everywhere, and when the splatters dried, the cake mix droplets were like cement. I had to use a razor blade to remove them from the mixer, counters, and cabinets. However, the work is worth it. At the end of the 10 minutes, you spoon the fluffy cloud-like mixture into the pan and then bake for 35 minutes.

Taste wise, this cake is amazing.  It is light, fluffy and slightly sweet and moist. You would never guess this was gluten-free! Every person- even my gluten-consuming friends and family have proclaimed this to be the best angel food cake they have ever tasted. I have to agree. This is one mix that is worth every penny and every bite.

Pros: amazing taste and texture, fat free

Cons: Mix prep can be very messy

Rating: 5 stars!!

Want to try this gluten free cake mix for yourself? Click the link below for more information:


Gluten-Free Pantry – Angel Food Cake

From: glutenfree.com

Ingredients: sugar, corn starch, white rice flour, egg whites, baking powder (corn), cream of tartar, salt

Comments

17 Responses to “Product Review: Gluten-Free Pantry – Angel Food Cake Mix”

  1. Natalie
    April 11th, 2007 @ 3:15 am

    I have not tried this mix yet. The ingredients sound promising. Thanks for the warning about the mess- I am such a messy cook already! I will get this everywhere!

  2. Karen
    April 11th, 2007 @ 1:36 pm

    Natalie- you won’t be disappointed! It is fabulous. Just be ready with a damp cloth to clean up any stray splatters asap and you should be good to go. If you try it, please let me know how you like it!

  3. Kelly
    April 18th, 2007 @ 12:24 am

    This is fantastic! I’m not even a celiac sufferer and I still prefer it. Thanks for introducing me to this.

  4. Karen
    April 18th, 2007 @ 1:23 am

    The true test of a GF food- even a gluten-consuming person loves it! That’s how you know it’s really good. Thanks for posting your opinion kelly!

  5. Kristina
    April 22nd, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

    I have eaten this cake two times, and loved it both times. It does not taste gluten free at all. I have served this to non celiac sufferers and they never knew the difference between this and regular angel food cake.

  6. Yvan Poulin
    July 10th, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

    Hello,

    I found your Gluten-Free Pantry review very interesting. It’s really a great and tasteful product, but you have to be patient and beat it a little longer if you don’t have a strong mixer (might take up to 20 minutes depending on the mixer).

    Regards,
    Yvan Poulin
    http://www.glutenfree.com

  7. Karen
    July 11th, 2007 @ 12:52 am

    Welcome Yvan! I agree, with a less powerful mixer, it may take longer to get the batter nice and thick. I am glad we agree what a tasty product this is.Yum! I hope to read more of your opinions in the future. The more input we have, the better!

  8. MOCAJanelle
    September 15th, 2007 @ 11:39 am

    I’ve only made this once and made the mistake of not mixing enough. It was NOT fluffy. It had a nice brown top and the first inch was great but the bottom of the cake was a thick rubbery layer I had to scrape from the pan with a putty knife! I cut off all the rubbery part, sliced the good part into chunks, topped it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream and it was a very popular dessert at my house! I will try again using your mixing advice because the flavor really was very good.

  9. Karen
    September 16th, 2007 @ 12:37 am

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

    This mix really requires mixing patience, but it is sooo worth it! I hope it turns out next time!

  10. Uncle hannah
    November 18th, 2007 @ 8:05 pm

    Thank you so much for this review site. Very useful. I’ve thought of compiling my opinions of GF foods but I never remember to. It’s easy to forget which ones were so-so and which were lovely.

    I shared the website with my GF mom.

    :D

  11. sandra andreas
    September 29th, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

    Hi…I have been purchasing your angel food cake for a very long time….it is my favorite cake. However, I have visited a number of health food stores in the last few weeks and have not been able to find it anymore….one health food store told me that you have discontinued it….OH NO…please tell me this is not so….the clerk also told me that a larger number of her customers have also been looking for it…it certainly seems that this is a VERY popular product and I implore you to please … if you have discontinued it….PLEASE….put it back on the shelves….It will make me and alot of other people very happy….

    Thank You for you time and consideration to my plea…..feel free to contact me via e-mail at : sandreas@ptd.net.

    Thanks, Sandra Andreas

  12. Karen
    September 29th, 2008 @ 7:21 pm

    Nope- big rumor- it is still available online. I will update this post with a link by this evening (9/29)

  13. anette
    April 27th, 2009 @ 7:40 pm

    Hi…I’ve been looking for this mix at whole food for several months also and found out that it was discontinued. I called the company http://www.glutenfree.com and found out that they discontinued it because they had gotten complaints from people buying it who weren’t able to get it to rise properly. A very popular seller though she said and they might consider bringing it back. She put me on the list of people that have called wanting it back. Please call and add your name to the list! And spread the word:-)
    1-800-291-8386

  14. Wayne Chelius
    November 12th, 2009 @ 6:20 pm

    Pleases bring the angel food cake mix back!!!!!!

  15. Shipping Scales
    March 10th, 2010 @ 5:43 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed this mix.. It wasn’t too heavy, it tasted right. I miss it! :( It was what we used for my daughters first birthday cake and now I can’t recreate it…
    -Sylvia

  16. Martina Webster
    May 16th, 2010 @ 11:36 am

    I am so bummed this is discontinued. :( I came online to look for it since I couldn’t find it at my local store anymore. This was my husband’s favorite!

  17. Dixie Smead
    July 28th, 2010 @ 11:13 am

    Your Gluten Free Pantry Angel Food Cake was one of the best tasting angle food cakes I have ever have. I use to take you Angle Food Cakes to friends homes and everyone preferred your mix to the Gluten mixes.
    I thought I could not buy it locally any more, but found out today the cake mix has been discontiuned.
    Sometimes the cake was a little lopsided but my friends loved the taste.
    Sincerely
    Dixie Smead

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta