Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas

Posted on | February 1, 2007 | 14 Comments

I found it! A rice tortilla that does not split, crack or fall apart when I try to eat it- AMAZING!

These tortillas are found in the frozen food section of the natural foods store I frequent. . When defrosted in the microwave, they are chewy and dense and hold together anything you want to throw its way.I’ve filled it with saucy meats, salsa, eggs, and melted cheese, and it never became soggy or squishy. These tortillas are burrito size and can easily become and all-in-one meal with the right fillings. Eating the tortillas warm is best for burritos and wraps because the torilla is softer and easier to roll or fold. If they are cold or room temperature,  the torillas tend to be a bit stiff.

I even toasted them in the oven to make a pizza, complete with basil tomato sauce, cheese and veggies. It was soo good, and remained chewy with a hint of crunch. Absolutely perfect.

Pros: great texture and flavor, holds shape well, excellent taste

Cons: Nothing I can think of!

Rating: 5 stars!!!

tortilla-package.jpg  tortilla.JPG

Comments

14 Responses to “Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas”

  1. Natalie
    April 5th, 2007 @ 1:47 am

    I love these tortillas. I used them tonight to make a Turkey Pesto Wrap. Delicious!

  2. Karen
    April 5th, 2007 @ 3:28 am

    I’m glad you like them! Care to share what you put in your wraps? I’d love to try them as well.

  3. Gluten Free Mommy » Chicken and Rice Wraps with Ginger Sauce
    April 16th, 2007 @ 1:08 am

    [...] If you have tried Food for Life Brown Rice Tortillas, hop on over to Gluten Free Food Reviews and give your [...]

  4. GF TEJAS CELT
    April 16th, 2007 @ 3:00 pm

    I too think the Food for Life Brown Rice Tortillas are super. I use them for everything, make great”sandwiches”, but luv warmed with a little EVOO. My new comfort food!

  5. carrie
    October 17th, 2007 @ 12:18 pm

    wow! cool! I will have to see if I can find some of these!!

  6. Colleen
    December 30th, 2007 @ 8:46 pm

    I bought these a while ago after seeing your review, but I hadn’t tried them because corn tortillas always seem to suffice. I ran out of corn yesterday and finally broke these open – OH MY! These are FABULOUS! I heated mine in a skillet and just added leftover turkey and some veggies, but I think these would be fabulous with anything! I’ve already gone through three! Thanks so much for your review – I NEVER would have tried these otherwise! So Yum!

    Oh and Happy New Year!

  7. Karen
    December 30th, 2007 @ 9:53 pm

    I am so glad you like them Colleen! They are a staple in my freezer- yum!

  8. liz
    March 5th, 2008 @ 1:25 pm

    I remember the first time we found these delectable tortillas…We LOVE the Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas! We use them all the time …the problem we have a big GF family & use tons of these per month…over a case. Does anyone have a recipe that is like this wonderful tortillas? Also, have you found the Nature’s Highlites Pizza Crusts yet? They are fab too.

  9. Paul
    September 2nd, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

    I use these wraps also in my GF diet. My problem is they tend to crack and fall apart all the time when I use it as a wrap. I have tried to microwave them, heat them in the ove and even toast them. Please give me some advice!! pdrpoet@yahoo.com

    thanks!

  10. Karen
    September 2nd, 2008 @ 8:49 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I would check the expiration date- or you may have gotten a bad batch as I buy these every few weeks and never had that problem. I find that microwaving makes them easier to roll, since they are stiff cold, or even room temperature. Good luck!

  11. Mark
    September 22nd, 2008 @ 12:17 am

    Make great pizza’s on the grill, we love these tortilla the best we have found!

  12. Mark
    September 22nd, 2008 @ 12:19 am

    spray them with a non-stick spay and warm them in a frying pan, all gluten free bread items to me at least taste better warmed up, then make a wrap.

  13. Beth
    January 22nd, 2009 @ 6:22 am

    I’m new to the world of Gluten Free, but have slowly found many of my old favorites in GF form. Like the wonderful Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas. Although the ones I have seem a bit tough, they work for me. I found they soften up if I spritz them with water, put them between damp paper towels, or between to plates to keep the moisture in and heat them in the microwave. I found I have to but them together quickly so they don’t get to stiff, but they are the closest thing to my favorite old flour tortillas that I have found. They make excellent enchiladas, burritos and fajitas ;~)

  14. Sarah
    June 8th, 2010 @ 8:19 am

    I always heat them. I think it might be a habit of such a long time living GF. However, I must say it makes an excellently fun twist on a Cuban sandwich to use these wraps instead of bread, and it’s quick! :)

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta