Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Enjoy Life Granola “New & Improved” – Cranapple Crunch, Very Berry Crunch, Cinnamon Crunch

Posted on | November 3, 2009 | 9 Comments

Enjoy Life gluten free granola . . .  round two!
Enjoy Life reformulated their gluten and allergy free granola and asked me to give it a whirl, even though I didn’t like their old formula.  They sent me three flavors to sample: Cranapple Crunch, Very Berry Crunch and Cinnamon Crunch.
The biggest difference I noticed was the large, awkward clumps of granola weren’t there anymore. Instead,  their new granola seems much more separated with only a few bite size clusters and bits of freeze dried fruit.  The brown rice flakes appeared cut and textured to look just like bits of oats- very clever!
The flavor of the granola is quite bold, especially the cranapple and very berry flavors. I liked that the granola wasn’t very sweet, so it made a great option for breakfast or sprinkling on yogurt for an extra crunch. Speaking of crunch, when I tried this gluten free granola for breakfast I was happy to discover that it stayed very crunchy in milk.
I didn’t care for this granola as a snack though. It was so separated that any attempt at eating a handful of this  granola resulted in a shower of flakes and fruit bits all over the counter and my shirt. Not fun.
Way to go enjoy Life! This new granola is a huge step up from the prior formula.
*This granola is free from wheat, gluten, casein, dairy, oats, soy, corn potato , sulfites, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, fish or shellfish
*Nutritional snapshot: ranges 1.5 to 3.5 grams of fat per serving, 170-180 calories, 3 grams protein and 2 grams fiber. For detailed information, please click HERE.
Pros: nice flavor, not too sweet, stays crunchy in milk
Cons: messy to eat as a snack
Rating: 4 stars
Want to try this for yourself?
Check out your local grocery store, or you can order from amazon.com for a discounted bulk price:


Comments

9 Responses to “Product Review: Enjoy Life Granola “New & Improved” – Cranapple Crunch, Very Berry Crunch, Cinnamon Crunch”

  1. The Chatty Housewife
    November 3rd, 2009 @ 7:18 am

    I tried the cinnamon flavor a while back and found it so strong that I couldn’t finish the package. I was disappointed to waste so much money. Would you suggest I try it again? How strong are the flavors?

  2. Cara
    November 3rd, 2009 @ 11:56 am

    This is some of my favorite cereal! I love the new formula!!! :)

  3. stepmomof2
    November 4th, 2009 @ 12:03 am

    I too tried the very berry a while ago and found it disgusting. Maybe I’ll have to give it a try again. Thanks for the review.

  4. The Enjoy Life Team
    November 4th, 2009 @ 2:49 am

    Thanks for an honest review we appreciate it. We are very pleased with our new Granola formula, and we are so pleased that you enjoy the new taste as well.

    As for Chatty Housewife and stepmomof2, all that we ask is that you give us another try. The Granola really is better, and we think it is worth one more try. If you don’t like it, call us. We absolutely stand by our product!

    Thanks for the great support.

    The Enjoy Life Team

  5. Karen
    November 4th, 2009 @ 5:29 am

    Stepmom, you are right, the old formula wasn’t very good. I am so glad it was changed! I actually enjoy having it for breakfast now.

    Chatty Housewife, the cinnamon – as well as the other flavors- are still bold and would probably be a bit much for you if the old formula’s flavor was too much. I think the cinnamon would be great sprinkled on vanilla yogurt or on ice cream!

  6. The Chatty Housewife
    November 10th, 2009 @ 6:58 am

    I went ahead and decided to give the berry flavor a try. The contents of the package smelled very old to me and it was almost a stale smell. I went and ate it for breakfast and even though the flavor was a little strong, I somewhat enjoyed the cereal because the texture was very good.

  7. Karen
    November 10th, 2009 @ 10:05 pm

    Your cereal was stale? That is awful! I would contact the company and let them know.

  8. Felicia
    November 28th, 2009 @ 11:49 am

    After reading the review and hearing that the “new and improved” formula, really is,I decided to give the cereal a second try. I would DEF. agree. MUCH, much, much better. :) I decided on the cinnamon and have been very pleased with it. It makes a great, lite, late night snack (not to sweet, either) and I think it tastes a little like an oatmeal raisin cookie, all broken up. Im so glad Enjoy Life was able to improve this product. I really like their products and was really surprised that the old recipe was as disappointing as it was.

  9. Michelle
    April 2nd, 2010 @ 10:32 am

    The ‘Very Berry Crunch’ was my very first GF/DF food two months ago. While I didn’t like it as a cereal (too sweet with my almond milk), I ate it straight out of the bag the minute I got home. Yep, it was a little messy, but it was worth it. :)

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta