Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Kinnikinnick Gluten Free Hot Dog Buns

Posted on | May 31, 2008 | 10 Comments

Who doesn’t love a summer cook out? Whether you prefer a juicy burger, spicy bratwurst or a skewer of roasted veggies, there is something for everyone. Thankfully, when I am the host, I can ensure the affair will be gluten free, so I can eat and enjoy without worry.

However, I love my Minnesota brats with all the fixings. And to handle all of those condiments, you need a good, hearty bun. At a gluten free cookout, what’s a girl to do? I found these Kinnikinnick gluten free hot dog buns in the frozen foods section and wanted to give them a shot. I am very picky about gluten free bread, and realized this would either be very good or very, very bad.

To eat these buns, you need to defrost them. I wrapped a bun in a paper towel for 30 seconds or so and it was ready to go. To lightly toast the buns ( to minimize crumbling, and enhance flavor), I baked mine in the oven for a few minutes. Both versions tasted OK- neither one better than the other.

First of all, these buns are hearty big and thick with lots of gluten free bread to support even the largest hot dog. In fact, they are almost too big and can overwhelm whatever you choose to put inside.

The texture of these gluten free hot dog buns is a bit textured and spongy and tasted a bit of the white rice flour. They are also very soft- no coarse crumbs. To me, these buns tasted gluten free, but did what they were meant to do- cradled my cookout meat of choice without becoming a soggy mess when slathered with my favorite ketchup.

The best thing about these gluten free hot dog buns is that they have a whopping 7 grams of fiber and 4 grams of protein. That was a nice bonus I wasn’t expecting.

PROS: soft, hearty, lots of fiber and protein

CONS: spongy, very thick, you can tell these are gluten free, just “OK”

Rating: 3 stars

To Purchase: Click HERE to get them at WellnessGrocer.com

Ingredients: white rice flour, tapioca starch, water, sugar, poly dextrose, egg whites, dextrose, yeast, sunflower oil ( and/or canola oil), pea protein, sodium carboxy methylcellulose, salt, vitamin blend (thiamine, viatmin B2, niacin, folic acid, iron)

Kinnikinnick has started it’s own blog- “The Gluten Free Insider”

It’s informative and fun- click HERE to check it out!

**Don’t forget to check out my other Kinnikinnick gluten free product reviews!

Comments

10 Responses to “Product Review: Kinnikinnick Gluten Free Hot Dog Buns”

  1. Parental Instincts
    January 4th, 2009 @ 7:41 am

    I wonder how they’d be toasted on the grill? Would they stand up to that, are they too delicate to you think?

  2. Karen
    January 5th, 2009 @ 7:21 am

    I think they would be great on the grill, however, they would probably split in half. If you try it, I’d love to hear how it turns out!

  3. kenny at the ranch
    June 20th, 2009 @ 5:58 am

    good to find some GF buns. i have just had some GF beer brats made up and need to find a good bun to go with them. i did find some from a local GF bakery “outside the bread box” in CO Springs, CO. we havent tried them yet but i am going to order some of these and have a lil shoot out/throw down over 4th of july weekend. i will post the results on my blog, i hope to find a couple more GF buns to compare at the same time

  4. Alan
    June 22nd, 2009 @ 5:41 pm

    Kinnikkinnik has new and inprved hot dog buns as of 2009. They are no longer spongey. They are now the best around. I micirowave thenm out of the freezer for 20 seconds and then slice the bun. Finally I microwave them again for 40 seconds and they are FANTASTIC!

  5. Karen
    June 23rd, 2009 @ 1:51 am

    Ooo, I think I may have to give them another try!

  6. Mandy
    August 9th, 2009 @ 2:03 am

    I tried them today and was slightly disappointed. I love Kinnikinnick’s pizza crust, and figured I would give them a shot. I couldn’t stand the aftertaste. I ate 3/4 of one and had to say ew…I will try them again grilling them, but I definately can taste the “ugh” to the gluten free side. :( I am craving a good “REAL” bread…but can’t have it or I get very sick.

  7. Lori
    April 1st, 2010 @ 4:32 am

    Have you tried Udi gluten free bread. It is really good! No hot dog buns but the bread is delicious

  8. craig
    October 23rd, 2010 @ 7:18 pm

    Udi has the best pizza crust.kinnikinik has tasty English muffins. I’m curious as to where to find GF hotdog buns for Chicago style hotdogs.

  9. Lindsey
    August 22nd, 2011 @ 10:43 am

    I found these to be WAY too thick and to me they smelled like dog food. GROSS! I’m going to try a few other brands and hope that they don’t turn out like these. Definitely not worth the price.

  10. Product Review: Kinnikinnick’s *new* Soft Hot Dog Bun : Gluten Free Food Reviews
    April 9th, 2012 @ 2:07 pm

    [...] sent me their new  gluten free hot dog buns to test out. They are completely new and replace their old hot dog buns.  Each package contains four hot dog buns and retails for around $4.59 per [...]

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta