Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Bob’s Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix- gluten free/ wheat free/ dairy free

Posted on | February 11, 2008 | 18 Comments

bobs red mill whole grain gluten free bread

As I stocked up my own gluten free pantry one Saturday, the clerk at my local natural foods store offered me this free Bob’s Red Mill gluten free whole grain bread mix. I couldn’t believe it! I really miss my whole grain gluten filled wheat bread, Could this be the substitute I was hoping for?

100_6358.JPG

Mixing this whole grain gluten free bead mix with water, eggs and cider vinegar was a snap with my Kitchen-Aid mixer. The dough was thick and hearty, but not overly sticky or difficult to work with. So good, so far.

The bread baked up beautifully with a nice dark and slightly crunchy crust and boasted lots of little nooks and crannies I let the bread cool, then sliced it and topped with with a bit of butter and jam. I was impressed with how easily the bread sliced with little crumbling. Unfortunately, my gluten free bread glee stopped there. The bread looked good, but oh my, it tasted AWFUL!

The texture was rough, thick and very strange- like nothing have ever tried before. The plethora of caraway, sesame, sunflower seeds; and whole grains in this bread seem out of place. The ingredient flavors do not blend well and are a harsh and chaotic blend of flavors. There is no sweetness to this bread, and the dark color is only based on the addition of cocoa. Even though I used to enjoy multi-grain breads, I was not used to this. I tried to eat this bread twice and became nauseous after each attempt. I don’t think I will ever buy this bread on my own. If any of my readers have tried this mix with better results, I would love to hear about it!

PROS: looks great, slices easily, lots of whole grains

CONS: flavor and texture is just awful

Rating: 1 star

Feeling brave? Wanna try it for yourself?

Ingredients: Whole grain buckwheat, garbanzo bean flour, potato starch, cornstarch, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, whole grain sorghum flour, tapioca flour, turbinado sugar, cocoa powder, evaporated cane juice, fava bean flour, dried molasses (molasses, maltodextrin), xanthan gum, caraway seeds, active dry yeast, sea salt, whole grain teff, potato flour, onion powder, guar gum, soy lecithin.

See what Stephanie at What I Eat ,and Sea at the Book of Yum had to say about this mix!

(For Sea’s review, just scroll down the page. You’ll be glad you did!)

Comments

18 Responses to “Product Review: Bob’s Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix- gluten free/ wheat free/ dairy free”

  1. Lauren
    February 11th, 2008 @ 9:18 pm

    I actually tried this about a month ago and I thought it wasn’t so bad. I only ate it toasted though, it seemed to make it much tastier. It was rather icky at room temp.

  2. sea
    February 12th, 2008 @ 12:28 am

    Haha, thanks for the mention. It is appalling bread, isn’t it? *shudder*

    -Sea

  3. Karen
    February 12th, 2008 @ 1:26 am

    Lauren- I am glad you found a way to make this bread edible! Toasting was a good idea. I just couldn’t get past the taste of my first two slices.

    Sea, yes it is . . . definitely not a friend to my taste buds.

  4. Neena (NeenMachine)
    February 12th, 2008 @ 5:35 am

    Karen,
    You made me laugh! I have not tried this bread and don’t think I will, now. But the pictures are beautiful, it really looks yummy. Too bad!

  5. Karen the FabGrandma
    February 12th, 2008 @ 5:53 am

    I must be the freak in town because I love this bread. I do add 4 tablespoons of brown sugar to the mix, though. I like the bread because it reminds me of the dark pumpernickle rye bread my mother used to get around the holidays when I was a little girl. I thought it was delish with hot mustard and baked ham. I have also made it into french toast. When I make it, I used the small 8 X 4.5 inch disposable bread pans and make two small loaves. I freeze one for later.

  6. Karen
    February 12th, 2008 @ 5:25 pm

    Nope, you are not a freak Karen! You were just smart and figured out a way to make it taste better,and a yummy way for you to remember your childhood. Thanks for sharing your suggestion!

  7. Natalie
    February 13th, 2008 @ 12:00 am

    Great job on the bread. The ingredients look terrible to me. haha. I love that feature of your blog. I look straight down to the ingredients every time!

  8. Karen
    February 13th, 2008 @ 12:42 am

    Hey Natalie, I am glad the ingredient list is helpful! I guess I should have looked at it before I made the bread. LOL. Actually, Neena is the one that asked me include the ingredients when I first started blogging, so she gets the kudos. :)

  9. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com - a place to share opinions about gluten free products » Le Garden Gourmet Bakery- Country Style Seed Bread- gluten free/ wheat free/ soy free/ dairy free/ nut free/ oat free/ some organic & kosher ingredients
    February 14th, 2008 @ 3:20 pm

    [...] a great dark bread , and was curious as to how it tasted. However, I was also nervous, because my last encounter with a dark gluten free bread ( Bob’s Red Mill) was less than tasty. I decided to take the plunge at plunked down $5.69 for my 1 lb. 8 oz. loaf of [...]

  10. Cara
    June 6th, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

    Apparently I’m one of the few who loves this bread. Yes, it is better toasted, but for those who like the whole-grain taste, it’s perfect! I would highly recommend it – even above Bob’s Red Mill regular GF bread mix (which can taste rather eggy).

  11. bluesh4rk
    September 20th, 2008 @ 3:44 am

    I was just wondering if you’ve tried Montina flour… my husband made a loaf of bread with that and it was actually pretty good. Very much like a wheat bread except gluten free of course.

    http://www.amazinggrains.com/

    I apologize if you have a review for this already, I am new to your site.

  12. Mel
    May 30th, 2009 @ 6:45 pm

    I absolutely love this bread! The texture of mine was nothing like you described. I let it cool thoroughly, and the crust was perfectly crisp with a very tender center that pulls apart like regular bread. It tastes like rye bread, which I like. I was so depressed by how awful premade gluten-free bread is, and this has really turned things around. I will say that I did not use a mixer, so did not mix this as much as some others perhaps did. Maybe that’s why my bread turned out more tender? I’ll definitely be making this again.

  13. Kathryn
    October 4th, 2009 @ 6:32 am

    I agree with Mel abd Karen the FabGrandma, having tried this bread for the first time last week. It tastes like pumpernickel or rye bread and has a good texture like Mel described; however, how did those of you who tried it react to the buckwheat in it? Apparently I can’t tolerate buckwheat any more than I can tolerate wheat. I wonder how this bread passed the gluten-free and wheat-free and wheat-sensitive tests. Any ideas? I have an unused half loaf in my refrigerator that I shall have to toss because of my wheat and/or gluten and/or “buckwheat” reaction to it.

  14. Kathryn
    October 4th, 2009 @ 7:03 am

    I want to retract one of my statements above, that being: “I wonder how this bread passed the gluten-free and wheat-free and wheat-sensitive tests.” I just looked up buckwheat online and found out it is a fruit, not a grain, and that it is gluten-free. So it must have been whatever I ate WITH this bread that caused my reaction. Kudos to Bob’s Red Mill for this bread. I think it is delicious.

  15. Kim
    January 8th, 2010 @ 6:31 am

    I’m also a fan of this bread and agree it reminds me of a pumpernickle or rye bread mmmm. I love strong flavored breads but this is definately not for everything or everyone. It is awful with a pb&j but delicious with a rueben or spicy sandwiches. I think it’s the caraway that can give it a strong or even off putting (to some) flavor. I do wish they made this bread without it too, but it’s hard to complain I’m rarely disappointed with Bob’s Red Mill products.

  16. Laila
    June 29th, 2011 @ 7:28 am

    I tried it out yesterday and it tasted really weird.. :|

    @ Kathryn: Maybe you reacted to another ingredient in the mix, some people react to Xanthan Gum, others to Sorghum flour, others to cornstarch..

  17. Celine Bowdwick
    September 30th, 2011 @ 12:11 pm

    How can it be hardy whole grain and gluten free at the same time?

  18. Mary
    March 10th, 2012 @ 9:53 am

    I LOVE this bread. It is perfect for corned beef sandwhiches. In fact, I have only seen it in one store around here and was looking online to see if I could order it when I came across this review page. This is the closest I’ve come to a good pumpernickle bread (which I used to eat almost exclusively).

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta