Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Blue Diamond Natural Almond Nut-Thins – Country Ranch Nut & Rice Cracker Snacks – gluten free

Posted on | April 24, 2007 | 13 Comments

ranchnutcrack.JPG

 I think these have to be my all time favorite gluten free snack cracker. Seriously, they are so good!

These crackers come in a 4.25 ounce box and sells for $2.89 in my area. These ranch flavored crackers are a  flavorful snack that successfully balances the nutty cracker with the ranch flavor. The crackers are perfectly crispy, but not too much so. Just right.  The light ranch flavoring that coats the thin crackers is also perfect. It almost remind me of the cool ranch flavor Doritos I used to enjoy, but without the heavy, greasy taste. Even my non-celiac husband loves these crackers- that’s how you know they are good!

Pros: Great flavor and crispness, decent price,

Cons: The size of the box is deceptively larger than the 4 servings it contains inside.

Rating: 5 stars

Ingredients: Rice flour, almonds, seasoning ( salt, natural buttermilk flavor (buttermilk, whey, maltodextrin, skim milk), sour cream powder (sour cream [cream, non fat milk, and cultures], cultured nonfat milk, citric acid, tocopherols, ascorbyl palmitate [maintains freshness]), garlic powder, cultured whey, onion powder, spice, yeast extract, parsley, lactic acid and natural flavors), potato starch, expeller pressed safflower oil and soy lecithin (processing aid).

ranchnutbox.JPG

Where Can I Buy These Crackers?

Amazon.com

Comments

13 Responses to “Blue Diamond Natural Almond Nut-Thins – Country Ranch Nut & Rice Cracker Snacks – gluten free”

  1. mike
    April 24th, 2007 @ 1:27 am

    Those are also a favorite of mine too!
    I actually ate them BEFORE going gluten-free, and was so pleased to see that I could still eat them after the GF thing.

  2. Karen
    April 26th, 2007 @ 12:44 am

    I know, they are sooo good! It’s nice to have one thing in your diet you don’t have to change when going gluten free.

  3. Krista Foster
    April 26th, 2007 @ 12:47 pm

    HEY! Ya know, I wanted to let you know I’m so glad you do this! I’ve been reading your reviews, they’ve been so helpful! I have seen these crackers at my Whole Foods and have debated trying them…now I will! :D

    Krista

  4. Karen
    May 3rd, 2007 @ 1:33 am

    Thanks Krista! I am glad this site has been helpful for you. Be sure to check back and let us know if you liked them. I hope you won’t be disappointed.

  5. Maureen
    September 25th, 2007 @ 5:17 pm

    These are my all time favorites of every and all crackers. Love them.

  6. Karen
    September 25th, 2007 @ 7:32 pm

    I know! They are just too good to resist. I need to start buying them in bulk. Even my gluten-consuming family adores them. Yum!

  7. Abby
    June 5th, 2010 @ 8:39 pm

    I know I’m late in the game here, but heck. I’ve only known I was celiac since earlier this year and so I’m still experimenting with GF foods. That said I picked up a box of these last week.
    I wish I hadn’t.

    With the name “country ranch” I thought I’d be dealing with a light ranch dressing style flavor. Like back when I didn’t know I shouldn’t be eating wheat and would dip my buttery salad crackers in ranch dressing.

    I. Was. Wrong.

    No part of the powdered vomit tasting horrendousness that assaulted my mouth reminded me ANYTHING of ranch. Since when does ranch contain garlic and sour cream?

    Holy Mary Mother of God. If these didn’t cost so much I’d just chuck them in the trash. Now I’ve got to find someone who can stomach these. I can’t even stand the godawful stench that comes from them.

  8. Mary Jo
    July 28th, 2010 @ 11:35 am

    That’s too bad Abby. I love them. The ranch ones remind me of a snack my mom used to make with oyster crackers, oil and powered ranch mix. Yumm. But my fave is the cheese. I eat them like they’re going out of style.

  9. Carrie
    September 13th, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

    Blue Diamond has another cracker that blows this one away: CHEDDAR CHEESE.
    They are addictive. Once the box gets opened, they are done – non GF-er’s scarf them up.

  10. Stacy
    November 18th, 2010 @ 2:48 pm

    I know this an older post but I have just recently found your site. I have only been gluten free for a few months. I have tried the other flavors of the nut thins and enjoyed them. I recently found this flavor and I LOVE it. I agree a lot of things don’t taste like they use to but what do you expect when you can’t have a lot of the same ingredients. I think these are GREAT and even my co workers love them (that’s when I’m willing to share, lol)

  11. Lindy
    August 19th, 2011 @ 1:49 pm

    I really liked these crackers my son didn’t like them to much though. Oh well I can eat them with salad or with a sandwich.

  12. breelyn
    December 6th, 2011 @ 2:48 pm

    if you look closely at the label, as all good celiacs should, you will notice that just below the ingredient list is the statement that this product was processed in a facility that also processes wheat. since cross contamination occurs, this is not a gluten free product. still makes folk who can’t eat gluten sick.

  13. Anna
    April 29th, 2012 @ 8:01 am

    These are great crackers. Although I agree with your comment about the “deceptively larger” box. Everyone in my family (even the non-gluten-free members) enjoy them. I’d also like to let you know that I was actually trying to get to your Pamela’s pancake and baking mix (on your favorite products page), but it linked to this page instead. Great reviews!

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta