Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Bittersweet Gluten Free Bakery Lemon Bar Cake

Posted on | August 27, 2007 | 7 Comments

Bittersweet Bakery Lemon Bar Cake gluten free

I really like lemon, almost as much as pumpkin, and since I still haven’t found a really great lemon bar recipe or mix, I thought I’d give this lemon bar a try from the Bittersweet Bakery in Eagan, Minnesota. It is conveniently located by my parents’ home off of Cliff Road, and the half empty pan in their display case convinced me that they must be pretty good, if so many were gone by 11 a.m. So I splurged, purchased a generously sized bar for $2.25 and went on my merry way.

The bottom layer is a vanilla-tasting yellow cake. My piece was quite dry and crumbled profusely. The top layer of icing is a sour lemon flavor that is brittle and cracks when cut with a knife or fork. It tasted a bit old and stale. As an afterthought, I realized warming this cake in the microwave could have helped. Because I like this bakery so much, I think this product deserves another chance. However, overall I was really disappointed with this product experience.

PROS: Umm, it’s gluten free

CONS: dry cake, sour icing, the combination of the two tasted strange

Rating: 2 stars

040731_02.gif

For more information on Bittersweet Bakery’s products, click HERE.

To read the review for their yummy pumpkin bar cake, click HERE

Comments

7 Responses to “Bittersweet Gluten Free Bakery Lemon Bar Cake”

  1. Natalie
    September 3rd, 2007 @ 1:36 am

    LOL…I love the pro! I won’t be trying this one!

  2. gopherfan
    November 3rd, 2007 @ 12:18 pm

    This bakery is horrible!!! I’ve been there a few times and never had a good experience – skip it!!!

  3. Karen
    November 3rd, 2007 @ 8:49 pm

    Hey gopherfan, I am guessing you tried this lemon bar as well ? LOL

  4. Kathi
    March 5th, 2010 @ 1:18 pm

    Interesting. Maybe you have to be a child to love these. They are by far my son’s favorite gluten free snack. Everytime we are down that way he begs me to stop and get him one. When we go to Fresh and Natural Foods and I let him pick a snack to eat in the car on the way home he always chooses a lemon bar from Bittersweet.

  5. Linda
    April 2nd, 2010 @ 9:28 am

    My daughter and I both really loved these- they are more like a lemon cake- ours were moist and tart! The glaze frosting is only powdered sugar and lemon juice, so naturally cracks when you bite into it- no shortening. We also love their sugar cookies and their bread- no aftertaste in anything…

  6. Lynn
    July 13th, 2010 @ 7:38 pm

    I agree with gopherfan. I have never had a good experience there either. These people are cold and give really bad service. The bread is awful. The muffins are fine but give me diarrhea every single time. The cookies can go either way. Yet everything I’ve tried there gives me diarrhea and no other gluten free product does. Udi bread in co-ops now is so much better.

  7. bo
    August 28th, 2012 @ 11:19 pm

    Lyn. then stop going. I have never had a better experience at any other bakery. there breads are delicious and cookies are always fresh, the muffins and bars have their bad days but its a good bet no matter what u get. will be delicious. and when u have 8 people working on getting orders out to dozens of grocery stores and other places around the metro, u may wait an extra minute. but its worth the wait

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta