Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Bittersweet Bakery’s Pumpkin Bar Cake- gluten free

Posted on | August 23, 2007 | 10 Comments

Bittersweet Bakery Pumpkin Bar

This amazing pumpkin cake/bar is brought to you by a local gluten-free bakery in my hometown of Eagan, Minnesota. The Bittersweet Bakery is located at 2105 Cliff Road. My family told me about this small bakery when I was visiting in June. I just had to stop in and explore, since I have never been in GF bakery before, and I was excited to see what they offered. It was wonderful to walk in the door with greetings of breads, rolls, hamburger buns, cakes, cookies, and sweet rolls. They even have pancake and cornbread mixes! It was a pleasure to buy just one hamburger bun for my family’s cookout that evening. No bun o’ lettuce for me that night! Along with my bun, I just had to get the pumpkin bar to try. I love most anything pumpkin when it comes to baking, so this was an easy one to say “yes” to.

The pumpkin bar is generously proportioned ( pictures above is only half!), and at $2.25 a bar, you get your money’s worth. The pumpkin cake is super moist and doesn’t taste anything like a gluten free product. The cake is also soft and full of flavor without too much sweetness or crumbling. The frosting on top was a thick cream cheese/vanilla concoction that was really sweet. So sweet, that I scraped a portion of it off my pumpkin bar. Just a little was perfect for me.

Unfortunately, they do not ship at this time ( plans for nationwide shipping are in progress for this fall, according to store employees), but I hope anyone passing through or local will stop in and give their products a try. There is nothing I like better than to support a local business that has quality products. In the upcoming weeks I will have reviews for their other products as well.

Becky, I know you are in Minnesota, you’ll have to let us know if you have been here, and what you thought of their products.

PROS: moist and delicious, does not taste gluten free, great value

CONS: frosting is too too sweet

Rating: 4 stars

040731_02.gif

Visit Bittersweet Gluten Free Bakery’s website for more information!

Comments

10 Responses to “Bittersweet Bakery’s Pumpkin Bar Cake- gluten free”

  1. Sharon Smith
    August 26th, 2007 @ 12:52 am

    I am a regular to the Bittersweet bakery, even though it’s about 30 miles out of my way. Their bread is great — the best GF bread I’ve come across. And I can’t leave the store without one of their monster cookies. They’re loaded with goodies — including pure oats — but I’ve never had a negative reaction to them. Trust me, they are delicious.

    Remember if you plan on buying bread to call ahead. You can sometimes get their sandwich bread without reserving it, but the others need to be ordered in advance.

  2. Neena
    August 26th, 2007 @ 5:06 am

    It is encouraging to see an actual gluten free bakery. This indicates that people are becoming more aware of others with special diets and that there is a need for these type of specialized businesses.

  3. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com: Gluten free products for wheat allergies or celiac disease sufferers » Bittersweet Gluten Free Bakery Lemon Bar Cake
    August 27th, 2007 @ 12:53 am

    [...] To read the review for their yummy pumpkin bar cake, click HERE [...]

  4. GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com: Gluten free products for wheat allergies or celiac disease sufferers » Gluten Free Cake Month Round-Up
    September 14th, 2007 @ 3:57 pm

    [...] Bittersweet Bakery Pumpkin Bar Cake [...]

  5. gopherfan
    November 3rd, 2007 @ 12:16 pm

    I have to disagree with the great reviews of this bakery, I am not happy with any of the products I have purchased there (3 visits). Dry, tasteless, PLUS poor service!!!

  6. Karen
    November 3rd, 2007 @ 8:47 pm

    Hi gopherfan- welcome! Can you share with us what products you have tried?

  7. bluesh4rk
    September 20th, 2008 @ 3:13 am

    I have been to Bittersweet as well and have only tried a pumpkin bar and a lemon bar. They were both good but the pumpkin bar was a definite standout. It was very moist. I think they go a little lighter on the frosting now as I didn’t think it was too much and I am not a huge frosting fan either.

    I would like to try other items from them sometime. I have heard their sandwhich bread is excellent. My only gripe so far is there is no nutritional information available. I am trying to lose weight so this would be really helpful to me. The guy behind the counter said they had it but it was misplaced.

  8. Celiac Wife
    October 4th, 2008 @ 1:36 am

    I was thrilled when I heard there would be a gluten-free bakery just miles from my home – so I’ve stopped in many times since Bittersweet Bakery opened their doors. Frankly, that initial thrill is gone. I’ve tried and tried to like Bittersweet since I drive past their shop daily – but I have given up. While I really like their muffins (cranberry-pumpkin is my top favorite), I’d concur with the reviews about the lemon bars (bitter frosting, odd flavor of the cake), rather dry cookies, and the lack of bread selections. Their sandwich bread is just ok, a bit too sweet for my family’s tastes, and the other options must all be pre-ordered.

    Pre-ordering a special event cake, I understand that – but having to pre-order basic items like bread and pizza crust? Makes no sense to me. I’d think they’d have these on hand all the time (whether fresh or frozen), but customers are required to call in advance to order. My guess is either they sell them too infrequently (which I’d expect, given the pre-order requirement) or they sell them all to the local co-ops and have none left for in-store sales.

    I’ve actually tried talking with several different staff members, including the owner, on multiple occasions, but I got the impression that they were so focused on production for the local co-ops who stock their baked goods that my vist and purchase was viewed as an interruption. Any requests for nutritional information have been answered with a pat “it’s all gluten free” reply in a rather defensive tone, as if they were worried I was going for their trade secrets. No ma’am – just wanting to make sure I can eat what I buy without getting sick.

    Maybe counter service isn’t their thing, and that’s OK – but then they might want to re-think their options in the gluten-free market – maybe direct sales just isn’t where it’s at for them.

    Trust me – if I get great product and great service, I am a customer for life and will be the first to tell everybody, especially when it comes to independently owned businesses. In the case of Bittersweet Bakery, it is bittersweet indeed that I cannot recommend them to my gluten-free friends, many of whom have told me the same thing: skip Bittersweet and make the drive across the river to St Paul to COOQI, where you’re greeted with a smile, great samples, and some of the best gluten-free baked goods you’ll ever taste.

  9. Karen
    October 4th, 2008 @ 3:39 am

    I agree- their customer service service is pretty bad. When I spoke with the owner about their products, I also felt like i was a bother and that she really didn’t want to talk to me. Pretty sad.

  10. Suzanne
    June 11th, 2011 @ 7:23 pm

    We visit Bittersweet Bakery a lot. I usually leave with a box full of items to stock up our deep freeze. Their cakes are WONDERFUL, even after freezing!

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta