Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix

Posted on | August 14, 2009 | 7 Comments

Who doesn’t like fresh baked chocolate chip cookies?
This gluten free chocolate chip cookie mix from Betty Crocker is pretty simple to prepare- simply add one egg, vanilla and a stick of softened butter.  I initially combined the ingredients with a spoon, then finished with my hands. The dough is quite crumbly and chunky, so I used a cookie scoop to form the cookie dough balls for the cookie sheet. It worked great! I made 30 large cookies- not bad for the $3.75 I paid for the mix.
I baked the cookies until they were brown around the edges, but looked slightly undercooked in the center.  Leave the cookies on the sheet until they are completely cool, otherwise they will come apart when you try and take them off the pan. Check out the picture above- don’t these gluten free cookies look incredible?
But how do these cookies taste? I hate to say it, but I thought they looked better than they tasted. Don’t get me wrong, they aren’t bad, but I was disappointed with the grainy texture. However, my gluten consuming family inhaled them and asked for more- the texture didn’t seem to bother them a bit. Maybe I am just too picky? Anyway, they are slightly crumbly, but hold up fairly well overall. These cookies are very sweet and very buttery and are much better when you add extras like pecans and coconut.
Overall, they are decent cookies and this mix is something I will probably keep in my pantry when I don’t have the time to make a batch of cookies from scratch.
Pros: rich,buttery flavor, plentiful chocolate chips, fairly simple prep
Cons: “typical” gluten free texture, grainy
Rating: 4 stars
Ingredients: rice flour, semi sweet chocolate chips ( sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), brown sugar, sugar, potato starch, potato flour, leavening ( baking soda, sodim acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phsophate) salt.
************************
To try this mix, check the baking aisle of your local grocery store, or you may purchase in bulk from amazon.com:

Click HERE to read my other Betty Crocker mix reviews and HERE to check out my other gluten free cookie reviews.

Comments

7 Responses to “Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix”

  1. Sharon Stockton
    August 14th, 2009 @ 1:45 pm

    I don’t think you are ever going to find a GF cookie or cake mix that tastes exactly like a regular one with wheat flour. The rice flour just gives everything a different texture. We can’t expect it to be the same–just have to learn to enjoy what we can have. By the way, I baked my cookies longer until they were nice and crispy.

  2. sam saltzman
    August 16th, 2009 @ 4:19 pm

    Hey there I used two eggs, the crumbly dough made me scared so I popped another egg in and it came out great

  3. Karen
    August 16th, 2009 @ 9:10 pm

    So true Sharon! Just because it is different, doesn’t mean it doesn’t taste good! I do try to comment about texture for the gluten free newbies out there, since that can be a huge deal for them – and sometimes me as well :)

  4. Karen
    August 16th, 2009 @ 9:11 pm

    Excellent idea Sam! I will try that as well. I also got an email stating to add a pudding mix to the recipe . . . yum! With a little tweaking this could be a really good mix.

  5. Pam
    August 25th, 2009 @ 5:04 pm

    I was excited to see Betty Crocker come out with GF products. the brownie mix is wonderful, great flavor and texture – definitely the best GF brownie mix I have tried. That is why I had such high hopes for the CC cookies. Boy, were we disappointed!! Yes, they are easy to make but they had the standard grainy gritty texture of rice flour. There are wonderful flour combinations around that will bake up into very excellent products. Betty Crocker can do better with this cookie. We threw them out and I won’t buy again.
    PS. People living a GF lifestyle DO NOT have to settle for second rate baked goods! The best GF recipes/flour combinations I have found are on
    eatingglutenfree.com. The cookbook is great! I have not been pleased with anything purchased, but have found excellent recipes that are great!

  6. Pam
    August 25th, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

    CLARIFICATION ON LAST POST:
    People living a GF lifestyle DO NOT have to settle for second rate baked goods! The best GF recipes/flour combinations I have found are on eatingglutenfree.com. The cookbook is great!

    I have not been pleased with anything purchased, but have found excellent recipes that are great!
    INTENDED COMMENT:
    I have been very pleased with the flours purchased on eatingglutenfree.com. (chocolate cake is fabulous!) That is why I mentioned them. I have not been pleased with the baked goods purchased from stores, but baking myself with recipes usually results in great results. Sorry for the confusion!!

  7. Chelle
    October 30th, 2009 @ 5:17 am

    I was very frustrated with this cookie mix. It tasted great but the prep was awful! There were so few wet ingredients that I couldn’t mix it. I ran away crying and my husband had to finish making it. I think I was still weak and upset over being in the hospital and being told I had to follow this diet. Otherwise, I was very pleased with the taste but they were a bit crumbly. I may have to try the extra egg as Sam has suggested.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta