Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cake Mixes: Devil’s Food Cake & Yellow Cake

Posted on | August 11, 2009 | 16 Comments

After trying the Betty Crocker brownie mix with decent results, I moved on to the gluten free cake mixes – the yellow and devil’s food flavors. I was especially eager to see how good these mixes were simply because of the price. I can purchase these locally for $3.79 at my local grocery store- $1 cheaper than the yummy Pamela’s gluten free cake mix. Gluten free mixes are expensive, and having a more affordable option is always a bonus.
So how did Betty Crocker measure up?
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Devil’s Food cake mix: My favorite of the two by a long shot. This mix was moist and a little more dense  (not quite as spongy) than the original Betty Crocker cake mix.  The flavor was rich and chocolaty and almost exactly like their non-GF mix. This mix is great and doesn’t last long at my house! I did manage to hide one cupcake in my fridge, all wrapped up, and it was still moist and yummy 5 days later. Rating: 4  stars
(Ingredients: sugar, rice flour, potato starch, cocoa processed with alkali, tapioca starch, leavening ( baking soda, sodium acid pyrophsphate, monocalcium phosphate), salt, guar gum)
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow cake mix: Meh- this cake mix is just so-so. I have made this cake twice, and both times it was very crumbly and dry with a buttery flavor and a twinge of a strange after-taste. In all honesty though, I have yet to taste a gluten free yellow cake mix that is really good. I was disappointed with this one.  Rating: 3 stars
(Ingredients: rice flour, potato starch, sugar, leavening ( baking soda, sodium acid pyrophopshate, monocalcium phosphate), xanthan gum, salt)
*Each mix makes 12 generous cupcakes or a single layer cake.
*******************
If you want to try these mixes, your best bet is to check the baking section of your local grocery store or Walmart supercenter.
To purchase in bulk, click on the amazon.com link below for more information:

Comments

16 Responses to “Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cake Mixes: Devil’s Food Cake & Yellow Cake”

  1. stepmomof2
    August 11th, 2009 @ 2:13 pm

    Try this with the yellow cake mix-it’s delicious. Also, with the additions it makes two layers so it’s perfect for a birthday cake. Found on aglutenfreeguide.com:

    New and Improved Gluten-Free Cupcakes Recipe
    1 package Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

    1 3.4 oz package Jello vanilla instant pudding

    1/3 cup granulated sugar

    4 large eggs plus one egg white room temperature

    1/2 cup canola oil

    3/4 cup orange juice (no pulp)

    1 Tablespoon good vanilla extract

    *DO NOT FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS ON THE PACKAGE

    Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

    Mix the wet ingredients in a medium sized bowl. In a large bowl sift together the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients and beat on medium speed until completely combined

    Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners. Fill 2/3 of the way full.

    Bake for about 23-25 minutes, until the cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

    So let’s admit it, cupcakes at their best are really just a “frosting delivery device”, this buttercream frosting will rock your world.

    Vanilla Buttercream Frosting Recipe (adapted from Domino Sugar)

    1 pound Confectioners Sugar

    1 stick (8T) of good unsalted butter, softened

    2 teaspoons good vanilla extract

    1/4 cup of whole milk

    Combine half of the sugar with the butter and beat on low speed. Add the wet ingredients and beat. Slowly add the rest of the sugar while mixing until combined. Beat on medium-high speed for at least two minutes until the frosting is smooth and creamy. If you want the frosting to be a bit stiffer (better for decorating) add powdered sugar a couple of tablespoons at a time. Frost cupcakes with icing at room temperature.

  2. Karen
    August 11th, 2009 @ 3:02 pm

    That sounds great! Thanks for the info. I plan to try this out with my last yellow cake mix sitting in my cupboard. I do miss a good, basic yellow cake . . . maybe this version will do the trick!

  3. Sharon Stockton
    August 11th, 2009 @ 3:21 pm

    I have only tried the yellow mix so far and I loved it. Mine turned out really well–I used half milk and half water. All GF cakes seem pretty dry after a day or so, but I slathered it with a thick chocolate icing and it was delicious!

  4. Karen
    August 12th, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

    Adding milk is a good idea . . . And I’m all for extra chocolate frosting!

  5. Christa
    August 13th, 2009 @ 1:19 am

    Word on the street is that Betty Crocker is just repackaged Gluten Free Pantry.

  6. Karen
    August 14th, 2009 @ 1:14 am

    Hmmm, I haven’t heard that one, but I don’t think so. They taste much different IMO.

  7. Dianne
    August 14th, 2009 @ 3:41 am

    Surprised on the 3 stars for the yellow cake mix. I found it to be great. Very moist and delicious. I can’t remember if I had to add anything for Denver’s high altitude. I froze 1/2 the batch of cupcakes and they were just as tasty coming out of the freezer microwaved on high 20 seconds. I can’t wait to shop tomorrow and get another box. It is so nice to have a treat on hand that I can enjoy. Also my non gluten free daughter loves them too. I have to sneak them so she isn’t getting greedy with my treats!

  8. Karen
    August 16th, 2009 @ 9:18 pm

    I am glad you liked it! I think I will have to play around with it, to make it better for me. I made the yellow and devils food mixes for my daughter’s birthday party last week. When the guests came back for seconds, everyone went for the chocolate and the yellow cake was the leftovers- and I didn’t tell anyone they were gluten free. I ended up throwing them away because my children didn’t even want them the next day- they just wanted to know where the chocolate cupcakes were!

  9. Rachel
    October 8th, 2009 @ 2:45 pm

    These mixes finally arrived at our local Montana store. I also paid $3.79. Not bad. Overall, this was an easy mix, great texture, and pretty darn good. I thought they could be a little more chocolatey or flavorful, but I ate 5 of them with chocolate frosting so they couldn’t be that bad. I will try using milk instead of water next time and adding chocolate chips to the batter.

    I will definately use this for when I need something quick and don’t feel like cooking from scratch.

  10. Patti
    September 3rd, 2010 @ 6:54 am

    By adding the OJ to the cake mix, did it end up with an orangey taste? Or did it just taste like “regular” cake? Was it very moist? My son just went gluten-free just under a month ago & the dryness of foods, such as bread, has been his biggest problem.

    Thanks!

  11. Sarah
    May 12th, 2011 @ 1:44 pm

    I used the yellow Betty Crocker mix and used sour cream instead of water and the cake came out very moist and with a much better flavor that the other mixes I tried. The best mix I found so far.

  12. John
    August 24th, 2011 @ 5:38 pm

    Good, but be aware it’s high in sodium. 240mg per serving or 2400mg in the whole cake.

  13. Fair S.
    May 7th, 2012 @ 10:09 pm

    Tried the stepmomof2 Orange cake recipe- Used Walmart GreatValue 3.4oz instant vanilla pudding mix instead of Jello brand. And instead of OJ I used 3/4C of regular sour cream. Baked in buttered and GF floured lightweight metal pan at 325F for approximately 32 minutes until toothpick inserted in the center came out clean. Turned out so moist and delicious! Lovely!

  14. Gwen
    July 9th, 2012 @ 10:22 am

    I’ve made the yellow cake two times and “doctored” it the second time to try to make it better. My twelve year old says it tastes like butt. How he knows how butt tastes, I do not know. He gave it 1/2 star since it LOOKS like it would taste good.

  15. Kristin
    November 10th, 2012 @ 10:39 am

    I have made the yellow cake mix into a jello poke cake. So far I have tried strawberry and lemon. Both turned out moist and yummy.

  16. Ruth
    April 2nd, 2013 @ 2:38 pm

    I made the yellow cake recipe that was described in the first comment and it was wonderful. I made a sweet little 2 layer cake with raspberry jam in the middle for my sister in law’s wedding reception. All gluten and not gluten in attendance thought it was the best gluten free cake they had ever had. I highly recommend the doctored version in the first comment for any occasion. It remained moist until it was gone…the next day :)

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta