Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix

Posted on | July 21, 2009 | 13 Comments

I know ya’ll are just dying to know how good – or not – the new Betty Crocker gluten free mixes are. I admit, I was curious too, and decided to take the plunge and test the brownie mix. I did make the high altitude version due to my location, so I am basing my review on that- adding cornstarch, decreasing the butter and adding an extra egg. I also used an 8×8 pan, so the brownies would bake up thicker. However, you are able to use a larger 11×7 pan if you prefer.
First, I noticed this  brownie batter was different. It wasn’t as thick as other gluten free brownie mixes I have tried. It actually poured the batter out of the bowl and into the pan – no smoothing was even needed. It actually tasted like “regular” brownie batter as well- no grittiness at all. I couldn’t believe it! So far, so good.
The brownies did raise a bit as they baked and resulted in a cake-like brownie- very soft, thick, and moist with a bit of spring to it. The top of the brownies would crinkle just as touch when they were cut  into when they had completely cooled.
These gluten free brownies have a decent -but not amazing- chocolate flavor studded with mini bits of chocolate and are very sweet- so sweet I ended up with a sugar rush headache one and a half brownies later.  Oops.  Some friends I know can “hold their booze.”  Well, I can “hold my sugar” – it takes a lot for me to react to it. So yes, they are sweet, but they actually taste good.
My husband commented that these brownies did not taste gritty like other gluten free brownies, although he did notice a slight aftertaste (I didn’t notice it).
I observed that these bownies dry out and get stale fairly quickly. Within 12 hours no one wanted to eat the leftovers because of this. If you want to make them, I suggest consuming them right away, rather than waiting as with other gluten free brownie mixes I have tested.
Pros: great texture and flavor; easy to prepare
Cons: doesn’t store as well as other mixes; really sweet! Maybe cutting the sweetness with vanilla ice cream is the way to go (Ha!), not really fudgey or chewy if you prefer that type of brownie
Rating: 4 stars
Ingredients: sugar, semi sweet chocolate chips ( sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), cocoa processed with alkali), rice flour, potato starch, corn starch, xanthan gum, salt
EDITED TO ADD: I tried the “regular” preparation ( not high altitude directions) and they turned out chewy and fudgy. YUM!!!!
*******************
If you want to try this gluten free brownie mix, keep you eyes open for it in the baking aisle of your grocery store with the other Betty Crocker cake mixes. It just appeared in my area, so try and be patient if it isn’t in store near you yet.
If you want to order it in bulk, you can check out amazon.com, as they are offering  free shipping on order over $25:


Comments

13 Responses to “Product Review: Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix”

  1. Catherine
    July 21st, 2009 @ 1:26 pm

    I make two boxes in a 9×13 cake pan, slightly undercook, and use frosting…and they last for a week if kept covered. And the family loves them as much as “normal” brownies.

  2. Laurel
    July 21st, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

    Hi. Next time you make these try replacing some of that cornstarch with unsweetened cocoa which will make it taste better AND cut the sweetness. I generally add at least one Tbsp to whatever recipe anyway and use a bit less flour.
    I sooo want to try these but no one carries it not even the local Walmart. Curses, foiled again!
    P.S. a Tbsp of Applesauce or Mayo would help with the moistness issue too. Thanks for being our guinea pig.

  3. Lindsey
    July 21st, 2009 @ 2:44 pm

    I made the brownies and thought they were really chocolatey and very fudgy? Most people I know who have tried them agreed that they had a really chocolate flavor and more of a fudge like and chewy texture.

    Maybe yours were different because of the high altitude? Hmm that’s interesting how yours came out so differently.

  4. Karen
    July 21st, 2009 @ 3:25 pm

    Yes Lindsey, I am sure it is the altitude, as mine were definitely more cake-like than fudge-like. edited to add I followed the instructions on the box for high altitude prep. Just for fun, I think I will try the regular prep and see what the difference is!

  5. Lexi
    July 25th, 2009 @ 3:03 am

    I’m not sure about the high altitude directions, but I instead of butter I used a snack pack of applesauce. (The individual serving size) And the brownies turn out so delicious and moist! I had no trouble with them staying fresh either (mine lasted for about 4 days in the fridge covered with saran wrap). Test out the applesauce way, you won’t be disappointed!

  6. Karen
    July 25th, 2009 @ 4:21 am

    That sounds great! When you used applesauce, were they more cake-like?

  7. Betty
    July 27th, 2009 @ 2:16 pm

    I thought these were great, I used apple sauce and egg whites, they were nice and gooey, not cake like.

  8. Karen
    August 4th, 2009 @ 3:23 pm

    OOooo, good suggestion!

  9. Karen
    August 4th, 2009 @ 3:25 pm

    OK, I tried the mix with the “regular” directions. Even though they cooked a bit unevenly, they were fudgey and tasty. I even added pecans and caramel to make them turtle brownies.

  10. Barb
    August 7th, 2009 @ 7:20 pm

    I am one for doctoring a mix and if I can ever find these they will get some black cocoa.

  11. Debbie
    June 10th, 2010 @ 9:39 am

    I made these on mother’s day for dessert. Covered them with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. Everyone loved them. They were rich and moist. A little bit goes a long way. The best Gluten free mix I’ve tried so far.

  12. Contest for Moms Amanda
    December 3rd, 2010 @ 9:43 pm

    My son is allergic to everything. I just came across these so I hope our local store or at least wal-mart gets them sometime soon. Thanks for the review. I’m hopeful.

  13. SF Celiac
    June 5th, 2011 @ 11:36 pm

    These brownies are NOT gluten-free. My boyfriend had a sudden and severe gluten reaction within 15 minutes of eating them. Celiacs beware!!!

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta