Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: JD’s Bacon Salt – Natural flavor – gluten free/ low sodium/ vegetarian/ kosher

Posted on | November 7, 2008 | 4 Comments

I simply cannot believe it- a seasoning blend that makes everything taste like bacon? Are you serious?

Apparently, JD’s is very serious about it’s natural Bacon Salt seasoning blend that is gluten free, vegetarian and kosher. I tested the gluten free “natural” flavor in my gluten free kitchen to see if it really made my food taste like bacon.

I tried this seasoning blend on hamburgers, pork chops, baked potatoes, steamed vegetables, and eggs. Of the foods I experimented with, I liked this seasoning paired with grilled meats and potatoes the best.

Honestly, it was good on everything. This hearty seasoning can replace your standard seasoned salt with it’s savory, smokey and flavorful spices. The Bacon Salt mimics the flavors you would enjoy from real bacon, but without the extra fat and salt. Another bonus: it has zero calories. Even better.

Did I think this gluten free seasoning blend tastes exactly like a piece of bacon? No, not really, but don’t let that stop you from trying it yourself. This all natural seasoning blend is really tasty, and I don’t think I will ever buy regular seasoned salt again! If you like bacon- and I really do- it is a tasty, healthier, gluten free alternative to the real deal.

Pros: flavorful, bold, smokey, savory flavor with no fat and low sodium, all natural flavors, zero calories!

Cons: doesn’t exactly taste like a piece of bacon ( but it still good!)

Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Ingredients: salt, garlic, paprika, onion, spices, natural flavors, cellulose gel, yeast extract

Please check out JD’s website for locations near you where you can find Bacon Salt!

For some entertaining reading, check out the Official Bacon Salt blog

*******************

For more of my gluten free condiment and seasoning reviews, click HERE

Comments

4 Responses to “Product Review: JD’s Bacon Salt – Natural flavor – gluten free/ low sodium/ vegetarian/ kosher”

  1. Cynthia
    December 3rd, 2008 @ 9:03 pm

    I haven’t commented before, but sure appreciate your reviews.
    I wanted to try this, and finally found it at my grocery store.
    I see that the version you have says gluten free.
    The one I found has wheat in it as the 6th ingredient, and lower on the list wheat fiber.
    Aside from not saying gluten free, it says artificially flavored instead of naturally flavored. Otherwise the label looks the same.
    They may have reformulated, but wanted to let you know another version is out there with wheat.

  2. Karen
    December 8th, 2008 @ 4:40 pm

    Thanks Cynthia for your observation- great label reading!

    Please readers,make sure you get the NATURAL version- the original flavor DOES contain wheat!!!!

  3. Paul
    March 3rd, 2009 @ 4:43 am

    I looked this up.
    The ingredients are actually:
    INGREDIENTS:
    Salt, dehydrated garlic, dehydrated onion, corn syrup, bleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), monosodium glutamate, paprika (spice and coloring), maltodextrin, spice, corn cereal, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (corn, soy), autolyzed yeast extract, partially hydrogenated vegetable oil (cottonseed, soybean), natural hickory smoke flavor, natural and artificial flavors fructose, caramel color (contains sulfites), soy sauce (wheat, soybeans, salt, alcohol), vinegar, lactic acid, yellow 6, red 40, thiamine hydrochloride, medium chain triglycerides, triacetin, corn flour, lactic acid, grill flavor (from partially hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oils).
    Contains: Wheat and Soy ingredients.
    Also contains MSG.

    In other words: Chemical poison
    From http://www.dietfacts.com/html/nutrition-facts/jandds-bacon-salt-hicko50576.htm

    Also noted:Dietfacts.com has obtained information directly from product labels, nutritional guides provided by the companies of the respective products, USDA data, or sources otherwise noted.

    I wouldn’t eat it.

  4. Karen
    March 3rd, 2009 @ 6:51 pm

    Paul, you are mistaken. This is their ingredient list for the “regular” spice blend, not the “natural gluten free” version. The featured product- the natural flavor- clearly states on the label: “salt, garlic, paprika, onion, spices, natural flavors, cellulose gel, yeast extract. Contains: milk” It is also clearly labeled on the bottle as gluten free, which is consistent with the ingredient list. I have the bottle in my pantry, so there is no mistake. I suggest caution before posting that a product is “chemical poison” when you don’t even have the right product.

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta