Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix

Posted on | March 22, 2007 | 7 Comments

mixflour.JPG

This Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix comes in a hefty 28 ounce box. My sister actually picked this up for me, and I couldn’t wait to try it out.

This mix is a blend of organic whole grain brown rice flour, potato and tapioca starch and fava bean flour with gluten free baking powder already blended in. The mix itself looks slightly speckled and is moderately dense and heavy. I would compare it to a Bisquick type mix regarding consistency.

mixbox.JPG

I used this flour to make my favorite pumpkin bread- a “regular” recipe. I just substituted this mix for the flour and baking powder. I was really happy with the results! The bread tasted wonderful- not too dense and texture comparable to a “regular” pumpkin bread made from wheat flour. It was moist and flavorful, and the mix did not overpower the spices and pumpkin flavor. The bread was a bit crumbly, but I think that was because I cut into it too soon :) I will add updates as I try it in other recipes and types of foods. But, so far, so good!

Pros: Nice flavor and texture

Cons: In recipes, results in a heavier, crumbly product

Rating: 3 1/2 stars

 

 

Ingredients: organic wholegrain brown rice flour, organic potato starch, tapioca starch, tapioca starch, baking powder (monocalcium phosphate, sodium bicarbobate, corn stach), fava bean flour, sea salt

Comments

7 Responses to “Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix”

  1. Neena
    March 22nd, 2007 @ 12:58 pm

    The pumpkin bread sounds great! Will you give out the recipe?

  2. Karen
    March 25th, 2007 @ 1:39 am

    Of course- check back on Sunday :)

  3. Gluten Free March Madness - glutenfreefoodreviews.com
    April 1st, 2008 @ 2:37 am

    [...] Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix  [...]

  4. Ray DeBuse
    January 12th, 2012 @ 12:57 pm

    Arrowhead Mills recently made substantial changes to the ingredients in their baking mix. No longer is it “whole grain” since the primary ingredient is now white rice flour rather than brown rice. There is no rice or potato starch and rice bran extract, inulin and xanthan gum have been added. Have not tried it yet.

  5. Mary Rollert
    January 15th, 2012 @ 6:22 pm

    On a gluten free diet for a couple of weeks to see if it is contributing to my neuropathy from chemo for breast cancer. I bought some Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix and am having problems finding recipes to use. Can I use the same recipes as I would have with Bisquick or Jiffy baking mix? Lots of pictures on the box but only two recipes on the box and not find much on the website either. Thank you for your help.

  6. Cimmaron
    February 16th, 2012 @ 1:29 pm

    Anyone out there have a good ‘ol fashioned biscuit recipe using Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix? (Please and Thank You!)

  7. Mary Wierdsma
    March 21st, 2012 @ 3:00 pm

    I live in Canada, Ontario.Peterborough.
    Just wondering if anyone of you can tell me where I can get Arrowhead Mills g.f.flour in my area. Thanks

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta