Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

June’s Free Product Give-Away! Arrowhead Mills Organic White Rice Flour & Bob’s Red Mill “Sweet” White GF Sorghum Flour

Posted on | June 4, 2008 | 12 Comments

Free Gluten Free Flour!

Yes, my fantastic readers- it’s true! My give-away for the month of June is based on

Kitchen Basics!

I have found white rice flour and sorghum flour fantastic for my gluten free baking needs. I have used white rice flour to make everything from pie crusts, soups, sauces and baked goods. Sorghum flour is something new I have experimented with. I really enjoy the mild flavor and moist crumb it provides. Now, I am not the best cook or baker, but I have found these two flours quite forgiving, especially when blended together in recipes.

Think you could use some in your gluten free kitchen? Here’s how to enter:

The winner this month takes home BOTH of these gluten free flours!

1- full size package of Arrowhead Mills organic white rice flour

AND

1- full size package of Bob’s Red Mill “sweet” white GF sorghum flour

********************************

Here’s how to enter:

1. Reply to this post and share your favorite gluten free kitchen staple- it could be a product, mix, or even a gadget.

(Email submission are OK, bit I prefer you enter via the site so I don’t miss an entry. It is also helpful to include a link to your personal website in case you win and miss the big announcement)

2. If you have not done so, subscribe to glutenfreefoodreviews.com via email.

The give-away winner will be announced via email and on this site. Also, you will receive future product reviews. To subscribe, simply enter your email address at the top right side of my homepage. That’s it! :) if you have subscribed in the past, you do not need to do it again.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday, June 10th!

*******************************

Now for the rules:

1. You must complete #1 and #2 to enter

2. Entries must be made by Monday, June 9th 11:59 p.m.

3. I can only ship to US addresses , thanks to the picky and somewhat irritable disposition of my local postmasters. They give me a really hard time shipping food products to other countries- even Canada.

4. One entry, per person please

Good luck!

***************************************

Want more information about gluten free flour? Check out these sites while you wait for the winner to be announced!

“A Guide to Working with Gluten free Flours”- Shauna the gluten-free girl

“Tips for Baking With Gluten Free Flour” – Nancy from About.com: Celiac Disease

“Gluten Free Recipes & Tips” – Zoe from Epicurious.com

“Using Wheat Free Flours” – Victoria from About.com: Food Allergies

“Gluten Free Grains 101: the Best Flour Blend” – Natalie from glutenfreemommy.com

Comments

12 Responses to “June’s Free Product Give-Away! Arrowhead Mills Organic White Rice Flour & Bob’s Red Mill “Sweet” White GF Sorghum Flour”

  1. Jenn
    June 4th, 2008 @ 2:08 pm

    I would love to be able to try some new flours that I wouldn’t normally buy. I have been wanting to try sorghum flour.

    I love baking with Pamela’s baking mix. I have found that it works in most recipes as a straight substitution for flour.

  2. Sarah
    June 4th, 2008 @ 5:40 pm

    I’d love to try using that combination of flours…haven’t ante-ed up the money yet to try the sorghum flour :-)

    I find my staple to be xanthum gum, actually. It just helps my baked goods seem to have a consistency closer to the baked goodies that I used to be able to have.

    Thanks so much for your reviews!

  3. Cara Goedecke
    June 4th, 2008 @ 5:42 pm

    My gluten free staple is a steamer, I know it isn’t a product, but it is a gadget that I use all the time.

    I have been reading about sorghum flour and think it would be interesting to try! :)

  4. Karen
    June 5th, 2008 @ 3:01 am

    My favorite gluten free gadget is my cookie scooper! I make lots of GF chocolate chip cookies and this makes the job a breeze!! After reading one of your old reviews on cookie mixes, I tried Pamela’s cookie mix and my kids loved it! Thanks!!

    Kristin H ( via email)

  5. Karen
    June 5th, 2008 @ 3:03 am

    via email:

    My favorite/most helpful/most appreciated gluten-free cooking aide is my Cuisinart food processor!

    ~Victoria Snelling
    http://www.DrSnelling.com

    click everyday!
    http://www.TheHungerSite.com

  6. Karen
    June 5th, 2008 @ 3:04 am

    Hi!
    I enjoy your food reviews and forward them to some of the celiacs in our support group.

    Here is my most recent favorite staple:
    KinniKwik bread and bun mix from Kinnikinnick. I use it as a cup-for-cup replacement in my favorite quick bread and bun and cake recipes. I’ve made banana-nut bread, “banana split” muffins (banana muffins with mini chocolate chips and chopped maraschino cherries), blueberry muffins, pineapple upside down cake, chocolate mayonnaise cake, and other goodies. I’ve never been disappointed.

    Another product that isn’t exactly the same kind of staple, but a staple for me nonetheless, is Sonoma teff tortillas/wraps. They come in dark teff and ivory teff varieties, but as far as I can tell it’s only a cosmetic difference. These are nice, big, pliable tortillas/wraps like the “real” ones made of wheat. (After 15 years being GF, I am tired of the small, cardboard-like corn tortillas that are only palatable and pliable when warmed and also fall apart easily if the filling has much moisture.) I’ve found these teff wraps to be amazing. I’ve taken them with me when I’ve traveled to visit my grown children, and even after repeated freeze-thaw-freeze-thaw episodes they don’t stick together or crumble or crack. I make quesadillas with cheese and chicken or cheese and beef, and even after refrigeration they do not get stiff or brittle. I’ve also used them to make apple-cinnamon chimis, which got too crisp because I had to keep them warm for too long (for guests), but they were still yummy.

    peggy in IL ( via email)

  7. Olivia's Mom
    June 5th, 2008 @ 11:04 am

    We usually use our own GF flour substitute that we make up, but we haven’t ever used sorgum flour….I think our biggest staple these days is brown rice, fruits, veggies, and string cheese!

  8. Kate
    June 5th, 2008 @ 3:01 pm

    My biggest staple is Beth’s All purpose flour mix by Gluten Free Pantry. It is the perfect substitute for regular flour. It has yet to fail me.

    kat

  9. Karen
    June 5th, 2008 @ 5:13 pm

    I am currently using Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose flour. The chocolate chip cookie recipe is pretty good!

    Laura M. J. ( via email)

  10. Mary Stephen
    June 6th, 2008 @ 7:05 pm

    I am so excited that we are getting more gluten free products that are organic!
    Mary

  11. Mary Stephen
    June 6th, 2008 @ 7:12 pm

    I would like to donate some tshirts for your give-away–but I can’t find a way to contact you. You can check out the designs at http://www.ourspecialtees.com
    I have gluten-free mom and gluten-free girl shirts to spare, as well as some of the other designs. You can email me with your address and I’ll send you a couple.
    Thanks,
    Mary
    Owner/Special Tees

  12. Lisa O'Laughlin
    July 13th, 2008 @ 12:43 pm

    I currently use Bob’s red mill flour, all-purpose, it is versatile and works in my old recipes cup for cup! My favorite gluten free ready to eat product when I get lazy and don’t feel like baking is Barkat vanilla or lemon cream wafers, just like the old fashioned wafer cookies mom use to bring home! They are made from potato flour, soy oil and cream. They are dairy, egg and gluten free which is hard to find! They taste great and are inexpensive so make sure you try them! Lisa

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta