Gluten Free Food Reviews

Honest reviews of gluten free products for a tastier life

Product Review: Amy’s Non Dairy Cheese Pizza- gluten free/ rice crust/ personal size/ non dairy

Posted on | November 5, 2008 | 8 Comments

Amy’s sent me this personal sized dairy free, wheat & gluten free pizza to try. This pizza is perfect for a quick lunch or dinner since it is ready to eat in 12 minutes from start to finish and is the perfect size for one person.

Fresh out of the package, I couldn’t hold back a feeling of disappointment at the lack of sauce and cheese on this pizza, It just didn’t look like a good gluten free pizza. However, I gave it a try. I baked the pizza for nine minutes and broiled for 60 seconds. I tried to keep an eye on it, but the edges still burned, Boo!

The pizza:

The crust has a thin, crispy edge and a soft, course textured, and mealy center. The bottom of the crust did not brown or crisp up at all. The flavor was mild and paired well with the sauce.

The sauce was sparse, but actually tasted tangy and flavorful and paired well with the crust and cheese. I really liked it! I just wish there was more of it.

The cheese was also sparse- this pizza really needed more. This soy based cheese does not really melt or spread and simply doesn’t look good. However, the taste is actually decent.

Overall, this pizza is “OK” but really needs some extra toppings to give it some “oomph.”

Pros: flavorful sauce, simple prep

Cons: seriously lacking toppings, mealy tasting crust, crust baked unevenly- soft center and too crispy edges

Rating: 2 1/2 stars

To try this pizza for yourself, check the frozen foods section of your local grocery or natural food store

For ingredients information and a picture of the product packaging, click HERE to visit Amy’s website

********

Please check out my other pizza reviews and Amy’s reviews!

Comments

8 Responses to “Product Review: Amy’s Non Dairy Cheese Pizza- gluten free/ rice crust/ personal size/ non dairy”

  1. Sarah
    November 6th, 2008 @ 3:14 pm

    My kids like this pizza with added shredded mozzarella, canadian bacon, pepperoni, mushrooms, olives, onion & green pepper. They like that the sauce isn’t spicy. You can put foil strips around the edges to keep the crust from burning and cook it a little longer to get it done in the middle.

  2. bobbler
    July 28th, 2009 @ 7:32 am

    I love these pizza’s, HATE THE PRICE $$$..
    I got a new oven (breville), and these cook perfectly..
    Yes, you do need to watch it, esp the last two min (boil)..
    I actually watch the cheese start to brown and take it out..
    I also put the pizza in with no pan..
    This is not the same ingredients as a wheat and cheese pizza, so I do not expect it to taste or cook the same..

  3. julia villarta
    August 9th, 2009 @ 6:52 pm

    where can i buy this pizza and other snacks for my 9 year old? we only have trader joes

  4. Karen
    August 11th, 2009 @ 4:06 am

    Try the regular frozen food section of your local grocery store- most of my local stores do – even Walmart supercenters carry them near me. Good luck!

  5. 3 Days of Expo in 6 Posts – A rundown of the latest & greatest in GF at Natural Products Expo West: #3 Gluten-Free Main Dishes | Jules Speaks Gluten Free Blog
    March 17th, 2011 @ 10:42 pm

    [...] folks were very disappointed (here are two other reviews I found after a quick search: one on Amy’s dairy-free cheese pizza and one on Amy’s spinach and dairy-free cheese pizza). When gluten-free and even dairy-free [...]

  6. Product Review: Amy’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza – no cheese, gluten free : Gluten Free Food Reviews
    March 18th, 2012 @ 6:38 pm

    [...] the same base crust that their their other gluten free pizzas have ( see my reviews of Amy’s non-dairy cheese pizza, spinach pizza, and cheese pizza) - a sweet, mealy, soft crust lacking in flavor and substance. [...]

  7. Stan Harrison
    April 13th, 2012 @ 10:40 am

    I made this and two other gluten free pizza for my daughter last night. While none of them were any good this was, without a doubt, the worst. Who comes up with this stuff? I’ve been making pizza, bread and any number of things from scratch for years but I’m now trying gluten free pizza and recipes as well as packaged items to find a base from which to start. This is all a disappointment. I’m going to try a few store-bought pizza crusts for further investigation. One of the problems with these foods is that the sauce, cheese, etc. that they put on them are pure crap.

  8. judy
    September 28th, 2012 @ 3:27 pm

    uggg this pizza was terrible…i need to post the other 2 gluten free pizza’a that really taste like pizza…not trying to be mean but this was really bad…i kept taking bites in hopes it would taste better…uggg no…what a big disappointment…

Leave a Reply





  • Grab A Button

    Gluten Free Food Reviews
  • Subscribe to GFFR via email and enjoy posts delivered to your inbox:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • Your largest source of gluten free foods!
  • Recent Posts

  • People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009
    People's HealthBlogger Awards 2009 - Best 100 Winner!
    Wellsphere
  • HealthBlogger Network
    Wellsphere
  • Get the latest updates on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • 125w x 250h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods
  • Meta